AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

Reply
Contributor
jpeters
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎02-14-2012
Message 1 of 3 (298 Views)

Pipe missing flanges in iso

298 Views, 2 Replies
03-09-2012 08:07 AM

In my Iso drawings I have FLxFL pipe & fittings.  The flanged ends of the fittings are showing up correctly but pipe is coming out with no flanges.  See attached screen shot.   From what I understand about the SKEY mapping file, the end connections drawn are based on the end connection codes (FL) of the part.  My mapping files points FL to the FittingFlange block.  Both my fitting and pipe use the FL code so shouldn't they both come out the same in iso... what am I missing?  Thanks!

*Expert Elite*
dave.wolfe
Posts: 699
Registered: ‎12-04-2009
Message 2 of 3 (293 Views)

Re: Pipe missing flanges in iso

03-09-2012 12:15 PM in reply to: jpeters

You have to create your own symbol keys.

 

We have an article how to do that here:

http://www.pdoteam.com/2011/10/create-new-symbols-for-isometrics-in-autocad-plant-3d/

 

I ended up putting creating a PIFL key.  You can't use the PIPE type because the isometric program just draws lines.  You can use a different type like ELBOW.

Dave Wolfe
Isaiah 57:15

ECAD, Inc.
Tips and Tricks on our blog: Process Design, from the Outside

A P3D Authorized Reseller
Plant 3d Wish list: https://plant3d.uservoice.com/
Contributor
jpeters
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎02-14-2012
Message 3 of 3 (272 Views)

Re: Pipe missing flanges in iso

03-12-2012 11:08 AM in reply to: dave.wolfe

Dave,  Thanks (again!) for your reply. 

 

Let me make sure I have this straight:  When the system sees an Iso Symbol Type of PIPE it ignores the end types and doesn't use the mapped connection symbols.  So in the catalog/specs for flanged pipe you change the Iso Symbol Type to something else, say ELBOW.  Then you add an SKEY that maps to a symbol that is a straight line (to represent the pipe).  Because the Iso Symbol Type is not PIPE it looks for the end types and applies the appropriate symbols?

 

I've seen no documentation for Iso Symbol Types... Is there a list out there.  Or a file or dialog box that defines them?

 

Thanks!  -Jason

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Plant 3D Category!

The AutoCAD Plant 3D forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.