AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
dzine14u
Posts: 76
Registered: ‎04-22-2010
Message 1 of 15 (367 Views)

P3D Structural Member Problem

367 Views, 14 Replies
11-10-2011 07:13 AM

I continually encounter a problem involving the placement of structural members in 3D.  This may be a programming issue but when I place any member it offsets its position slightly from the point where it was actually placed.  This happens each and every time which means that I must manually move every single member to where it needs to be.

 

Is anyone else experiencing this or is it just me?  Either way it is unacceptable and needs a fix.

 

Chuck A. - Designer

Upper Consulting, Inc.

Chuck Altmix
Lead Engineering Designer
Upper Consulting, Inc.
www.upperconsulting.com
Member
Dennis_W
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-08-2011
Message 2 of 15 (345 Views)

Re: P3D Structural Member Problem

11-17-2011 11:31 AM in reply to: dzine14u

I am having this same problem.  It also happens with stairs, ect.  Does anyone have an answer of what could be going on?

I am using Plant 3D 2012.

 

Dennis

Valued Mentor
Rich.O.3d
Posts: 526
Registered: ‎08-19-2008
Message 3 of 15 (339 Views)

Re: P3D Structural Member Problem

11-17-2011 02:30 PM in reply to: dzine14u

on strucutes tab of ribbon, on Parts Panel, hit 'Settings'

this brings up the Member Settings Dialogue box.
Near Bottom Right hand corner there are 2 boxes (Horizontal and Vertical)

Are there numbers in the boxes?

Do the Numbers Match the offset you are seeing in the model when placing the member.?

CAD Management 101:
You can do it your own way,
If its done just how I say!
[Metallica:And Justice For All:1988]
Member
Dennis_W
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-08-2011
Message 4 of 15 (335 Views)

Re: P3D Structural Member Problem

11-17-2011 03:19 PM in reply to: dzine14u
Just 0's in those two boxes.
Valued Contributor
dzine14u
Posts: 76
Registered: ‎04-22-2010
Message 5 of 15 (326 Views)

Re: P3D Structural Member Problem - UPDATE!

11-18-2011 06:39 AM in reply to: Rich.O.3d

I have contacted Autodesk directly in regard to this issue. They acknowledge the problem and are currently seeking a solution.  What I have discovered is that the units accuracy you have set affects the amount of offset of the structural members.  In other words, the database that the structural shapes are created from gets "rounded off" based on the units you are using.  For instance: The offset from selected insertion point is different if you are using Architectural units set to 1/16" vs. set to 1/256" accuracy.  The same applies to the number of decimal places set from ".00" to ".0000000".  Regardless, even when your units are set to the highest accuracy possible it may be closer...but it is still is not right.

 

I have been informed that the P3D developers are on the case and we should expect a fix soon.  Apparently I was the first to discover and report this problem so they are keeping me up to date.  I will repost here if I hear anything new.

 

Chuck Altmix, Engineering Designer

Upper Consulting, Inc.

www.upperconsulting.com

 

Chuck Altmix
Lead Engineering Designer
Upper Consulting, Inc.
www.upperconsulting.com
Product Support
jason.drew
Posts: 323
Registered: ‎06-17-2010
Message 6 of 15 (266 Views)

Re: P3D Structural Member Problem

12-13-2011 03:17 PM in reply to: Dennis_W

Dennis,

 

I wanted to see what kind of issues you running into with the stair shapes. Is an an problem with placement or the steel shapes themselves?

 

As mentioned before, the issue with the strucutal members has been logged with the development team and they are looking into it.

 

Thank you,



Jason Drew
Premium Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.





If my post answers your question, please click the "Accept as Solution" button. This helps everyone find answers more quickly.
Employee
imvida
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-09-2011
Message 7 of 15 (244 Views)

Re: P3D Structural Member Problem

12-19-2011 01:17 AM in reply to: dzine14u

The issue happens when the intersection snap is turn on, if you use end point snap instead, it works fine.

Valued Contributor
dzine14u
Posts: 76
Registered: ‎04-22-2010
Message 8 of 15 (241 Views)

Re: P3D Structural Member Problem

12-19-2011 06:30 AM in reply to: imvida

We have found that the physical shift occurs even when you change an existing line into a structural member.  The developers are working to fix this issue.

 

Chuck

Chuck Altmix
Lead Engineering Designer
Upper Consulting, Inc.
www.upperconsulting.com
Active Member
manetzj
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎09-02-2011
Message 9 of 15 (112 Views)

Re: P3D Structural Member Problem

05-20-2014 05:46 AM in reply to: dzine14u

Same problem, many years later...

 

(P3D 2014) Plant 3D's placement of structural members in 3D is incorrect.  When placing any member, it offsets its position from the point I've selected.  This offset scales accordingly to the units precision that I've selected for my drawing.  This happens each time and I must manually move every single member that I've placed.

 

Can anyone offer any support or fix for this?

 

Best regards,

 

J. Manetz,

Sidock Group, Inc.

Novi, MI  48374

Valued Contributor
dzine14u
Posts: 76
Registered: ‎04-22-2010
Message 10 of 15 (107 Views)

Re: P3D Structural Member Problem

05-20-2014 06:00 AM in reply to: manetzj

manetez:

 

I am convinced that the strategy at Autodesk is that if they sweep it under the rug that eventually it will just go away and will be forgotten.  I simply dont use the structural components in Plant 3D anymore because of it.  I have a steel shapes program by CCAD for like $50 that gives me any structural shape you could ever want. Then I extrude the shapes and place them manually.  This way I know it is right the first time, every time.

 

Chuck

 

PS:  I think its sad that you spend so much for the software but they cannot fix problems like these.

Chuck Altmix
Lead Engineering Designer
Upper Consulting, Inc.
www.upperconsulting.com
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Plant 3D Category!

The AutoCAD Plant 3D forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.