AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

Reply
New Member
sraffe10
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-23-2011
Message 1 of 19 (1,078 Views)

P3D 2012 ISOMETRICS

1078 Views, 18 Replies
09-23-2011 04:39 AM

On 2011 version was able to include more lines onto a single isometric drawing, for 2012 this does not seem to work, with small sections of the line with very few components being drawn only?  Has anyone else had this problem?  Is there a solution so that can be more flexible to what is shown?

Valued Contributor
pkw167
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎08-05-2011
Message 2 of 19 (1,069 Views)

Re: P3D 2012 ISOMETRICS

09-23-2011 06:06 AM in reply to: sraffe10

2012 uses a different a different ISO generating engine then 2011, so as long as the pipe & components are on the same line, you can play with the clutter slider tab as well as "force to 1 ISO option(which I cannot get to work properly, it still splits it up).  And if you turn up the clutter slider, the ISO gets so messy that it is unusable without a lot of cleanup.  ISOGEN from 2011 and before was able to generate the same amount of items a lot cleaner.

 

Down sides of the 2012 ISO Generating engine that i dislike so far:

-fonts on the drawing are much bigger, and has a tendency to cross leader lines a lot.

-leaders do not touch items, so when they start crossing, its difficult to tell what it is pointing to

-fitting and components are also drawn much bigger, also contributes to more clutter looking ISOs

-pipe lines are drawn more "to-scale" with respect to fittings and components, so that clean stick-built look was lost.

-althou autodesk says there are more user control over the BOM appearence (layouts), I disagree... for one thing, back in 2011, we were able to stack 2 columns of cut-lists side by side in one area, but you can't now.

 

the more  you use it the more you will find it difficult to get that clean look from before... we will just have to live with it until this ISO generating engine/options/bugs are refined.

Distinguished Contributor
DJPiper
Posts: 123
Registered: ‎09-15-2009
Message 3 of 19 (1,064 Views)

Re: P3D 2012 ISOMETRICS

09-23-2011 06:51 AM in reply to: sraffe10

by default it spliting the iso by line number, and you can overwrite it. theres an options to tell the the iso extractor to do not split the iso even if they have the same line number

Contributor
kylepope
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎12-06-2006
Message 4 of 19 (1,041 Views)

Re: P3D 2012 ISOMETRICS

09-23-2011 09:22 AM in reply to: sraffe10

"On 2011 version was able to include more lines onto a single isometric drawing, for 2012 this does not seem to work, with small sections of the line with very few components being drawn only?  Has anyone else had this problem?  Is there a solution so that can be more flexible to what is shown?"

 

When you say lines, are talking about the splitting of a single tagged line, or multiple line numbers on one sheet?

 

"-althou autodesk says there are more user control over the BOM appearence (layouts), I disagree... for one thing, back in 2011, we were able to stack 2 columns of cut-lists side by side in one area, but you can't now.

Down sides of the 2012 ISO Generating engine that i dislike so far:

-fonts on the drawing are much bigger, and has a tendency to cross leader lines a lot.

-leaders do not touch items, so when they start crossing, its difficult to tell what it is pointing to

-fitting and components are also drawn much bigger, also contributes to more clutter looking ISOs

-pipe lines are drawn more "to-scale" with respect to fittings and components, so that clean stick-built look was lost."

 

1:  I agree, a little more "wrap" functionallity would be nice to the table control, rather than automatically assume splitting to a second sheet.

2: the fonts are controlled fairly easily through the Iso Themes, and utilize standard ADSK Styles to control size, font, etc.

3: Downside to using the LWT's, seems to "look" much better with a thinner lineweight assigned to the fittings.

4: Scale the symbols down, you can also do override themes to bring down the overall scale of small bore and vents/drains among others.

5: I agree, I'd like to "pull up" the lengths more to minimize long runs of "bare" pipe without sacraficing symbol size.

 

For an R1 release of a supporting package, I'm impressed though.  I've been able to produce some pretty clean iso's, with a little tweaking of course.  I also utilize a D sized border, which allows a little more "spread"

Kyle Pope
Process and Power Specialist
ECAD, Inc

Our Blog
www.pdoteam.com
Valued Contributor
pkw167
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎08-05-2011
Message 5 of 19 (954 Views)

Re: P3D 2012 ISOMETRICS

09-28-2011 12:17 PM in reply to: kylepope

mind sharing how to perform item 2 and 4?

 

I cannot figure how to change the sizes of font and fittings

 

Thanks

Contributor
kylepope
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎12-06-2006
Message 6 of 19 (939 Views)

Re: P3D 2012 ISOMETRICS

09-28-2011 03:18 PM in reply to: pkw167

The bulk of the control for those 2 items are in the ISO Theme dialog, found when modifying a border:

 

Iso Style Dialog.png

With minor tweaking of the styles listed at the top, and/or the information below, you can bring your iso's into something a little closer.  This is based off the factory Final_ANSI-C template:

 

sc1.png

 

 

sc2.png

 

 

sc3.png

 

Hope this helps, it's actually one of the topics that I'm writing for our Blog so there should be a little more content up at some point.

Kyle Pope
Process and Power Specialist
ECAD, Inc

Our Blog
www.pdoteam.com
Employee
karthik.nathan
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎09-28-2011
Message 7 of 19 (916 Views)

Re: P3D 2012 ISOMETRICS

09-29-2011 01:39 AM in reply to: kylepope

Thanks for your detailed reply Kyle.

 

Referring to the following statements ...

 

"5: I agree, I'd like to "pull up" the lengths more to minimize long runs of "bare" pipe without sacraficing symbol size."

"-pipe lines are drawn more "to-scale" with respect to fittings and components, so that clean stick-built look was lost."

 

Is it possible to get a pcf (or screenshot) that has this issue and what the desired output should be. This will help us better the isometrics engine for the next release.

 

Thanks,

Karthik

Valued Contributor
pkw167
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎08-05-2011
Message 8 of 19 (902 Views)

Re: P3D 2012 ISOMETRICS

09-29-2011 06:25 AM in reply to: kylepope

I can't thank you enough Kyle,  the screen shots are great... that cleans up the ISOs greatly.

 

Much much appreciate your help.  :smileyhappy:

Valued Contributor
pkw167
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎08-05-2011
Message 9 of 19 (898 Views)

Re: P3D 2012 ISOMETRICS

09-29-2011 06:31 AM in reply to: karthik.nathan

karthik.nathan wrote:

Thanks for your detailed reply Kyle.

 

Referring to the following statements ...

 

"5: I agree, I'd like to "pull up" the lengths more to minimize long runs of "bare" pipe without sacraficing symbol size."

"-pipe lines are drawn more "to-scale" with respect to fittings and components, so that clean stick-built look was lost."

 

Is it possible to get a pcf (or screenshot) that has this issue and what the desired output should be. This will help us better the isometrics engine for the next release.

 

Thanks,

Karthik


Part of the problem was covered o this topic:  PCF attacments are also included there

 

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-Plant-3D/P3D-2012-ISO-Scale/td-p/3141446

 

thanks

 

Contributor
kylepope
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎12-06-2006
Message 10 of 19 (891 Views)

Re: P3D 2012 ISOMETRICS

09-29-2011 09:48 AM in reply to: pkw167

Karthik

Thanks for your detailed reply Kyle.

 

Referring to the following statements ...

 

"5: I agree, I'd like to "pull up" the lengths more to minimize long runs of "bare" pipe without sacraficing symbol size."

"-pipe lines are drawn more "to-scale" with respect to fittings and components, so that clean stick-built look was lost."

 

Is it possible to get a pcf (or screenshot) that has this issue and what the desired output should be. This will help us better the isometrics engine for the next release.

 

Thanks,

 

Best way I can describe it is like this, the software seems to try anbd make use of 100% of the drawing space, which is a GOOD thing, unless you get into a situation like this control station.  If the vertical and horizontal lines were shortened, the overall size of the control station could be scaled UP to give greater clarity as to what is happening in the fitting to fitting situation shown.  And this doesn't even have the bypass in yet...

 

shorten pipe.png

 

In this case, I wouldn't have much choice but to break it out into 2 or more spools, so that I could get the clarity that I'm looking for.

 

Feel free to contact me further if I can help or if you have any other questions.  I'm wide open to discuss this in greater detail.

Kyle Pope
Process and Power Specialist
ECAD, Inc

Our Blog
www.pdoteam.com
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Plant 3D Category!

The AutoCAD Plant 3D forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.