AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

Reply
Contributor
Eshleman78
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎04-19-2011
Message 1 of 3 (131 Views)

Ortho not cutting existing pipe

131 Views, 2 Replies
03-15-2012 05:59 AM

My company has transitioned to Plant3D from Autoplant about a year ago.  We have now started to work on additions to projects that had been completed in Autoplant years ago.  The problem I am having is when I created orthos that contain drawings with older existing piping that was done in Autoplant.  The Autoplant piping does not show in the orthos.  I have installed all the appropriate object enablers.  Has anyone run into this issue?  It is going to be disappointing if all our older models will need to be remodeled.

Employee
TomislavGolubovic
Posts: 545
Registered: ‎12-01-2010
Message 2 of 3 (117 Views)

Re: Ortho not cutting existing pipe

03-15-2012 11:22 PM in reply to: Eshleman78

Is that model part of the project, or just a normal XREF?



Tomislav Golubovic
Plant Solutions Engineer
Autodesk Australia / New Zealand
Autodesk, Inc.

Contributor
Eshleman78
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎04-19-2011
Message 3 of 3 (107 Views)

Re: Ortho not cutting existing pipe

03-16-2012 06:26 AM in reply to: TomislavGolubovic

These piping files have been added to the project in a piping folder and the pipe is the only thing in the drawing.  When attempting to cut I select the piping model I need, to be included in the ortho.  I've tried using different versions of the existing pipe drawings.  The only one I have been able to cut is a file that I have saved as version 2000 dwg, then I opened it in Microstation and saved as a dgn,  then I close and open it in Microstation again and save as a dwg.   For some reason this has made the files able to be cut and shown in the ortho.  I would prefer not to have to do this to all my existing piping files.  Any suggestions on how to get my old Autoplant files to work in Orthos?

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Plant 3D Category!

The AutoCAD Plant 3D forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.