AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

Reply
Contributor
dgrant775
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎09-14-2011
Message 1 of 5 (275 Views)
Accepted Solution

Need ISA Metric, Mixed Option

275 Views, 4 Replies
01-29-2012 12:31 PM

My mining and mineral processing client uses ISA with metric units.  This option is not available during project set up.  Is there a work-around or easy fix?

 

Thanks,

Douglas S. Grant, PG, CEM

1. Create imperial project with ISA specification.

2. Create metric project with PIP (for example) specification

3. Enter to the metric project and go to the any P&ID object, press "Add symbol".

4. In the next window select file ProjectSymbolStyle.dwg which stay in the folder of the imperial project.

5. Add all symbols which you want, and say what is this in each case.

 

 

 My opinion Autodesk may to create this specification for metric projects, because it spend many time in this procedure.

 

Regards

Valued Mentor
ybogdanov
Posts: 385
Registered: ‎07-07-2011
Message 2 of 5 (272 Views)

Re: Need ISA Metric, Mixed Option

01-29-2012 02:03 PM in reply to: dgrant775

1. Create imperial project with ISA specification.

2. Create metric project with PIP (for example) specification

3. Enter to the metric project and go to the any P&ID object, press "Add symbol".

4. In the next window select file ProjectSymbolStyle.dwg which stay in the folder of the imperial project.

5. Add all symbols which you want, and say what is this in each case.

 

 

 My opinion Autodesk may to create this specification for metric projects, because it spend many time in this procedure.

 

Regards

-----------------------------------------------------------
Yury Bogdanov
ASIDEK(Grupo CT) - Partner Directo de Autodesk
Barcelona (Spain)
Contributor
dgrant775
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎09-14-2011
Message 3 of 5 (239 Views)

Re: Need ISA Metric, Mixed Option

02-24-2012 10:17 AM in reply to: ybogdanov

Thank you Yuri!  I agree, Autodesk should add this option and also allow for a non-standard project option too.

 

Solved.

 

Douglas Grant, PG, CEM

dgrant775

New Member
BrendanHampshire
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-01-2012
Message 4 of 5 (219 Views)

Re: Need ISA Metric, Mixed Option

03-01-2012 07:55 AM in reply to: dgrant775

Hi,

 

I work for a firm who will be making a metric ISA library, as we need one now. I guess we'll fudge it for the time being. What a shame that it's not included out of the box. Come on Autodesk...

 

Brendan

Employee
PeterQuinn
Posts: 349
Registered: ‎08-15-2007
Message 5 of 5 (212 Views)

Re: Need ISA Metric, Mixed Option

03-04-2012 06:48 AM in reply to: BrendanHampshire

Try using the metric PIP library. It is identical to the ISA library plus it has additional useful symbols not found in ISA.



Peter Quinn
Senior Product Manager
Autodesk, Inc.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Plant 3D Category!

The AutoCAD Plant 3D forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.