AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

Reply
Active Member
MAD1975
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-05-2011
Message 1 of 6 (802 Views)
Accepted Solution

Method to get a cost estimate using BOM.

802 Views, 5 Replies
08-01-2012 08:39 AM

Hi all,

I have a question about estimating the real life cost of construction of a Project designed in Autocad. (I use Autocad Plant 3D)

 

What I want to know is what method should I use. I searched the forums and didn't find a clear answer on what is the best method.

 

Here is what I think would work, but before actually making it, I want to know, from experienced users, what works and what doesn't.

 

Option 1- Assign a price tag to every piece of equipment / Produce a BOM / use a formula in the BOM to get the total price.

 

Option 2- Assign a price tag to every piece of equipment / Produce a BOM / Export to excel and create the formula to get the total price.

 

Option 3- Produce a BOM / Use Excel to assign a price to every piece of equipment using unique IDs in a price list and calculate the total price.
 

Which one is better ? Maybe the best option would be something else completely ?

 

There is not an easy answer I guess!

 

Thanks!

 

 

 

 

 

*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,277
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 2 of 6 (796 Views)

Re: Method to get a cost estimate using BOM.

08-01-2012 09:03 AM in reply to: MAD1975

First, try the Plant 3D forum - they will have much better idea of estimating in your field than those here.

Second, try project management sites - this one is primarily for technical support, and most of the posters here are technically (rather than manager -ially) oriented.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


Active Member
MAD1975
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-05-2011
Message 3 of 6 (763 Views)

Re: Method to get a cost estimate using BOM.

08-02-2012 05:37 AM in reply to: MAD1975

Thanks to the admin for moving the post.

 

Employee
KenFauver
Posts: 62
Registered: ‎10-31-2011
Message 4 of 6 (744 Views)

Re: Method to get a cost estimate using BOM.

08-02-2012 09:05 PM in reply to: MAD1975

Hi Mad,

 

My option is a variation of your Option #1. I would add the price field to the catalog and Calculate the Total cost by generating a report in Report Writer. The report writer allows you to use expressions similar to excel. 

If the post answers your question, please mark it as an Accepted Solution, so that others can find answers quickly!


Regards,

Kenneth G. Fauver
Technical Sales Specialist – Plant
Oil and Gas Solutions
Contributor
Proccie
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎09-02-2011
Message 5 of 6 (739 Views)

Re: Method to get a cost estimate using BOM.

08-03-2012 04:07 AM in reply to: MAD1975

I would say option 3 is your best bet.

Reason being is to tally up pipe lengths is easier done in Excel. (With pivot tables and such)

Also with a price change, it would mean re-doing your catalogues and specs, updating models, etc etc...

 

My opinion anyways...

 

Good luck!

Active Member
MAD1975
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-05-2011
Message 6 of 6 (729 Views)

Re: Method to get a cost estimate using BOM.

08-03-2012 01:08 PM in reply to: MAD1975

Thanks for those who answered. Choice #3 seems to be the way to go since I have many pipes in my design. But this will have to wait...

 

Please keep the thread alive as I am experiencing a frustrating FATAL ERROR : Unhandled Access Violation Reading 0x0000 Exception at f50cd74eh... for whatever this means!

 

Will be back as soon as I get this fixed.

 

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Plant 3D Category!

The AutoCAD Plant 3D forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.