AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

Reply
Mentor
PatrickByrne
Posts: 166
Registered: ‎10-06-2010
Message 1 of 7 (375 Views)

Keep construction lines after using PLANTCONVERTLINETOPIPE

375 Views, 6 Replies
12-12-2012 07:39 PM

When using the "line to pipe" command (PLANTCONVERTLINETOPIPE), I select the construction lines for the pipe to draw, after putting in the pipe it deletes the construction lines. Is there a setting so that these lines are not deleted.

Active Member
richard
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-22-2011
Message 2 of 7 (366 Views)

Re: Keep construction lines after using PLANTCONVERTLINETOPIPE

12-12-2012 11:51 PM in reply to: PatrickByrne

Pick option erase after starting the Line to Pipe command, then select no.

 

Richard Strikker

CADTEAM.NL

Mentor
PatrickByrne
Posts: 166
Registered: ‎10-06-2010
Message 3 of 7 (356 Views)

Re: Keep construction lines after using PLANTCONVERTLINETOPIPE

12-13-2012 02:41 AM in reply to: richard

Thank you, do you know if there is a setting for that so that the line is never erased?

Product Support
lanl
Posts: 121
Registered: ‎04-28-2008
Message 4 of 7 (313 Views)

Re: Keep construction lines after using PLANTCONVERTLINETOPIPE

12-17-2012 10:17 PM in reply to: PatrickByrne

Hi PatrickByrne,

 

Currently, there is no such system variable to control the lines never be erased.

 

Thanks.

 



Lei Lan
Mentor
PatrickByrne
Posts: 166
Registered: ‎10-06-2010
Message 5 of 7 (307 Views)

Re: Keep construction lines after using PLANTCONVERTLINETOPIPE

12-17-2012 10:37 PM in reply to: lanl

Any chance you could be added to the wish list.

 

Thanks

Valued Contributor
chad70811
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎05-03-2010
Message 6 of 7 (240 Views)

Re: Keep construction lines after using PLANTCONVERTLINETOPIPE

01-23-2013 04:43 AM in reply to: PatrickByrne

The way I accomplish converting line to pipe and keeping construction lines is to draw all construction lines on a dedicated layer (ex. Pipe Construction). I then freeze the "pipe construction layer before starting the line to pipe command. I then just thaw the pipe construction layer. It sounds complicated but I have toolbar button programed with a macro to do everything in one click. I will paste my macro below for reference. Just create a new custom command and program to button.

 

<^C^C-layer;s;0;lo;pipe_construction;;select \plantconvertlinetopipe -layer;u;pipe_construction;s;pipe_construction;; >

 

Chad

 

 

 

Active Member
tfs-us
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎03-28-2014
Message 7 of 7 (118 Views)

Re: Keep construction lines after using PLANTCONVERTLINETOPIPE

05-14-2014 08:10 PM in reply to: PatrickByrne

It seems like every piping software handles slope in incredibly horrible ways. So, many years ago I just started drawing all my sloped lines with a 3DPolyline lisp routine. Because of my work flow and this default nature, I've found the auto-delete on the LineToPipe command to be very annoying.

 

So, this is how I run the command now:

(defun C:CDD () ;C.onvert, but D.on't D.elete
  (command "PLANTCONVERTLINETOPIPE" "E" "NO")
  (princ)
  )

 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Plant 3D Category!

The AutoCAD Plant 3D forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.