AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

Reply
Contributor
24 Posts
2 Kudos
Registered: ‎02-01-2012
Post 1 of 9
Accepted Solution

ISOmetric pipe weight

1258 Views, 8 Replies
09-05-2012 06:48 AM

Hi, 

its possible to sum weight in ISO drawing, 

now i have strange 5,10 5,15 i want to normal weight for pipe when 5 meters of pipe have 25 kg weight. 

many thanks for You asnwer 

Best regards PLANT 3d.png

Michał Mądrzak
Plant Specialist

m.madrzak@mat.net.pl
Phone +48 12 252-06-25
Mobile. 693-015-910

New Plant 3D 2014 Extension 1 solved that problem 

Valued Contributor
69 Posts
4 Kudos
Registered: ‎05-30-2006
Post 2 of 9

Re: ISOmetric pipe weight

11-07-2012 07:39 AM in reply to: m.madrzak

Hi, I have got the same problem.

have somebody any idea, to resolve it?01.jpg

 

How I do that?

 1.- In spec Editor a Insert weight to each ND Pipe and by Kg/m

2.- For each single Part, Exactly Weight.

 

Insert that into Isogen Stamp table (BOM)

 

3.- Project Setup/Isometrics DWG Setting/Tittle Block and Display/Setup Tittle Block/Table Setup/Add Column/Pipe and Equipment/Weight.

 

Perhaps this is not the way and must be other, but I do´nt know.

Can you Help Us?

 

Valued Contributor
69 Posts
4 Kudos
Registered: ‎05-30-2006
Post 3 of 9

Re: ISOmetric pipe weight

11-07-2012 09:12 AM in reply to: batone79

Searching in the program about this problem a find a Readme file of Plant 2013.

"AutoCAD Plant 3D 2013 Extension 1 Feature Limitations and Notes"

 

You can read Below or here

 

02.jpg

 

No Comments

 

 

 

 

Distinguished Contributor
458 Posts
54 Kudos
Registered: ‎06-03-2012
Post 4 of 9

Re: ISOmetric pipe weight

04-07-2013 12:25 AM in reply to: m.madrzak
SINCE 2YEARS, THE IMPORTANT FEATURE REQUESTED BY USERS IS NOT TAKEN CARE, NEED DEVELOPMENT PEOPLE REPLY HERE.
Contributor
24 Posts
2 Kudos
Registered: ‎02-01-2012
Post 5 of 9

Re: ISOmetric pipe weight

04-09-2013 06:59 AM in reply to: Arun_Kumar_K

in Plant 2014 its still doesnt work ... pls fix it !

Michał Mądrzak
Plant Specialist

m.madrzak@mat.net.pl
Phone +48 12 252-06-25
Mobile. 693-015-910

Valued Contributor
69 Posts
4 Kudos
Registered: ‎05-30-2006
Post 6 of 9

Re: ISOmetric pipe weight

04-11-2013 10:08 AM in reply to: batone79

10K Bucks! for That..  :smileysad:

Employee
358 Posts
39 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-15-2007
Post 7 of 9

Re: ISOmetric pipe weight

05-22-2013 08:57 AM in reply to: batone79

I'd like to make sure I understand what you need for weights. For piping components (tee, elbow, valve) I think you want the weight of one item in the weight column for that item. E.g. if you have 5 elbows and they weigh 10lbs apiece, you want 10 not 50. Correct?

 

For pipe, if the pipe weights 10 lbs per ft and you have a 25 ft quantity of piping, you'd want the row in the BOM to show 250, not 10. Is that correct?



Peter Quinn
Senior Product Manager
Autodesk, Inc.

*Expert Elite*
5,763 Posts
504 Kudos
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Post 8 of 9

Re: ISOmetric pipe weight

05-22-2013 12:21 PM in reply to: PeterQuinn

We rarely show weights on our isometric drawings, usually thats handled through a more traditional BOM.  All the same, it would be useful in some cases, like isometrics for the stress engineers.  Given the option, I'd like a couple of different possible weight values in an isometric BOM: one for per-component weight, and another for total weight for that entry.  As your example, the line for components (e.g. elbows) would be similar to:

 

1   4"     ELBOW, 90 DEG LR, SCH. 80, ASTM A-234 GR. WPB       5      10     50

 

... where the 5 is the unit count, 10 is the weight-per-component, and 50 is the total.  Having the option for one, or the other, or both, is useful for the usual "where did this number come from?", "how much for just one?", and "how much for everything?" questions from engineers and purchasing.

 

As your example for pipe, it would be similar to:

 

1  4"     PIPE, SMLS, SCH. 40, ASTM A-106 GR. B          1205mm      _           50

 

... where _ is the per-length-unit weight and 50 is the total weight for that length.  I don't see a need for a per-length-unit weight for linear components like pipe.

 

 

Also, when there is weight values available it is nice (but not essential) for sub-totals and totals in the BOM: fabrication, erection, miscellaneous; supports; and so on.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


Contributor
24 Posts
2 Kudos
Registered: ‎02-01-2012
Post 9 of 9

Re: ISOmetric pipe weight

07-08-2013 12:31 AM in reply to: dgorsman

New Plant 3D 2014 Extension 1 solved that problem 

Michał Mądrzak
Plant Specialist

m.madrzak@mat.net.pl
Phone +48 12 252-06-25
Mobile. 693-015-910

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Plant 3D Category!

The AutoCAD Plant 3D forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the future of the Autodesk Community? To participate in this brief usability study, please click here. Your time and input is greatly appreciated!