AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

Reply
Contributor
m.madrzak
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎02-01-2012
Message 1 of 9 (1,171 Views)
Accepted Solution

ISOmetric pipe weight

1171 Views, 8 Replies
09-05-2012 06:48 AM

Hi, 

its possible to sum weight in ISO drawing, 

now i have strange 5,10 5,15 i want to normal weight for pipe when 5 meters of pipe have 25 kg weight. 

many thanks for You asnwer 

Best regards PLANT 3d.png

New Plant 3D 2014 Extension 1 solved that problem 

Valued Contributor
batone79
Posts: 68
Registered: ‎05-30-2006
Message 2 of 9 (1,035 Views)

Re: ISOmetric pipe weight

11-07-2012 07:39 AM in reply to: m.madrzak

Hi, I have got the same problem.

have somebody any idea, to resolve it?01.jpg

 

How I do that?

 1.- In spec Editor a Insert weight to each ND Pipe and by Kg/m

2.- For each single Part, Exactly Weight.

 

Insert that into Isogen Stamp table (BOM)

 

3.- Project Setup/Isometrics DWG Setting/Tittle Block and Display/Setup Tittle Block/Table Setup/Add Column/Pipe and Equipment/Weight.

 

Perhaps this is not the way and must be other, but I do´nt know.

Can you Help Us?

 

Valued Contributor
batone79
Posts: 68
Registered: ‎05-30-2006
Message 3 of 9 (1,032 Views)

Re: ISOmetric pipe weight

11-07-2012 09:12 AM in reply to: batone79

Searching in the program about this problem a find a Readme file of Plant 2013.

"AutoCAD Plant 3D 2013 Extension 1 Feature Limitations and Notes"

 

You can read Below or here

 

02.jpg

 

No Comments

 

 

 

 

Distinguished Contributor
Arun_Kumar_K
Posts: 444
Registered: ‎06-03-2012
Message 4 of 9 (855 Views)

Re: ISOmetric pipe weight

04-07-2013 12:25 AM in reply to: m.madrzak
SINCE 2YEARS, THE IMPORTANT FEATURE REQUESTED BY USERS IS NOT TAKEN CARE, NEED DEVELOPMENT PEOPLE REPLY HERE.
Contributor
m.madrzak
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎02-01-2012
Message 5 of 9 (820 Views)

Re: ISOmetric pipe weight

04-09-2013 06:59 AM in reply to: Arun_Kumar_K

in Plant 2014 its still doesnt work ... pls fix it !

Valued Contributor
batone79
Posts: 68
Registered: ‎05-30-2006
Message 6 of 9 (794 Views)

Re: ISOmetric pipe weight

04-11-2013 10:08 AM in reply to: batone79

10K Bucks! for That..  :smileysad:

Employee
PeterQuinn
Posts: 325
Registered: ‎08-15-2007
Message 7 of 9 (717 Views)

Re: ISOmetric pipe weight

05-22-2013 08:57 AM in reply to: batone79

I'd like to make sure I understand what you need for weights. For piping components (tee, elbow, valve) I think you want the weight of one item in the weight column for that item. E.g. if you have 5 elbows and they weigh 10lbs apiece, you want 10 not 50. Correct?

 

For pipe, if the pipe weights 10 lbs per ft and you have a 25 ft quantity of piping, you'd want the row in the BOM to show 250, not 10. Is that correct?



Peter Quinn
Senior Product Manager
Autodesk, Inc.

*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,365
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 8 of 9 (711 Views)

Re: ISOmetric pipe weight

05-22-2013 12:21 PM in reply to: PeterQuinn

We rarely show weights on our isometric drawings, usually thats handled through a more traditional BOM.  All the same, it would be useful in some cases, like isometrics for the stress engineers.  Given the option, I'd like a couple of different possible weight values in an isometric BOM: one for per-component weight, and another for total weight for that entry.  As your example, the line for components (e.g. elbows) would be similar to:

 

1   4"     ELBOW, 90 DEG LR, SCH. 80, ASTM A-234 GR. WPB       5      10     50

 

... where the 5 is the unit count, 10 is the weight-per-component, and 50 is the total.  Having the option for one, or the other, or both, is useful for the usual "where did this number come from?", "how much for just one?", and "how much for everything?" questions from engineers and purchasing.

 

As your example for pipe, it would be similar to:

 

1  4"     PIPE, SMLS, SCH. 40, ASTM A-106 GR. B          1205mm      _           50

 

... where _ is the per-length-unit weight and 50 is the total weight for that length.  I don't see a need for a per-length-unit weight for linear components like pipe.

 

 

Also, when there is weight values available it is nice (but not essential) for sub-totals and totals in the BOM: fabrication, erection, miscellaneous; supports; and so on.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


Contributor
m.madrzak
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎02-01-2012
Message 9 of 9 (643 Views)

Re: ISOmetric pipe weight

07-08-2013 12:31 AM in reply to: dgorsman

New Plant 3D 2014 Extension 1 solved that problem 

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Plant 3D Category!

The AutoCAD Plant 3D forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.