AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

Reply
Active Member
daniel
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎02-13-2012
Message 1 of 9 (519 Views)

iso operator in bom

519 Views, 8 Replies
09-24-2012 04:38 PM

is there a way to call up valve operator calls in the bom (bill of materieals) on iso's??

 

great lengths to make different operator symbols but none are called in iso's! 

 

help!!

Product Support
VinodBalasubramanian
Posts: 656
Registered: ‎09-30-2007
Message 2 of 9 (485 Views)

Re: iso operator in bom

09-26-2012 06:34 PM in reply to: daniel

Can you be to send us a screenshot of your requirement. This would help to troubleshoot the issue better. 



Vinod Balasubramanian
Active Member
daniel
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎02-13-2012
Message 3 of 9 (480 Views)

Re: iso operator in bom

09-26-2012 08:48 PM in reply to: VinodBalasubramanian

Here you go.

 

I would like operator types for valves in the iso bill of materieals.

(as the same valve has different operators attached to it)

 

thanks

daniel

Product Support
VinodBalasubramanian
Posts: 656
Registered: ‎09-30-2007
Message 4 of 9 (474 Views)

Re: iso operator in bom

09-26-2012 09:06 PM in reply to: daniel

Thanks for the screenshot. Your screenshot is confusing me. Do you want the actuators to be separate in the BOM or added to the valve body. Which one is your request ?



Vinod Balasubramanian
Active Member
daniel
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎02-13-2012
Message 5 of 9 (472 Views)

Re: iso operator in bom

09-26-2012 09:09 PM in reply to: VinodBalasubramanian

Hello

i'd pefer them to be scheduled seperatly

 

thanks

daniel

Product Support
VinodBalasubramanian
Posts: 656
Registered: ‎09-30-2007
Message 6 of 9 (453 Views)

Re: iso operator in bom

09-26-2012 11:42 PM in reply to: daniel

Actuators are not separated by Nominal Diameter but Valves are grouped under ND. Actuators are grouped by their sizes. You can turn off actuators in BOM but you can't show it in BOM separately at the moment.



Vinod Balasubramanian
Active Member
daniel
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎02-13-2012
Message 7 of 9 (443 Views)

Re: iso operator in bom

09-27-2012 01:13 PM in reply to: VinodBalasubramanian

i cant turn them on in the bom, can you show me how???

 

please.

 

daniel

Distinguished Contributor
philip
Posts: 312
Registered: ‎04-07-2005
Message 8 of 9 (368 Views)

Re: iso operator in bom

10-23-2012 12:46 PM in reply to: VinodBalasubramanian

What we are trying to do is have the iso constructed from two SKEY's one a valve body & one an actuator (lever, wheel, geared etc) with one of the two these two options happing when iso is run

1) have the valve display differently for each combination of valve body/actuator, not just lump all the same valve body togeather with no actuator type called

2) have same valve bodies grouped togeather called with seperate BOM entry calls for actuators

Active Contributor
TheCadGuyDavid
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎03-06-2013
Message 9 of 9 (195 Views)

Re: iso operator in bom

06-21-2013 02:47 PM in reply to: daniel

Hey guys... I might be able to help here. Basically the program is designed the thought that people want to use the same actuators for the same valve bodies. This is a horrible assumption, but one must work with what the program does. So, with that being said. One should make a list of actuaters and valves seperately, start making special actuator assignments to each of the valve bodies, and (in the catalog) end up with 7+ duplicates of the same valves with different actuator assignments (in the BOM and physically on the valve).

 

Then one must make a special SKEY for each iteration of a valve with another actuator. Hopefully that does not put you above 600 iterations, because that looks like the limit in the skey library. Just to be on the safe side, I am going to get rid of the defaults in the program (that won't be used) before I start using this extensively.

 

I made a SKEY Generator, using an excel sheet to facilitate it. I am pretty sure there is no duplicates in the file. I basically used a duplicate rule in excel that highlighted all the SKEYs that repeated and removed all repeats as I added them. This sheet generates the code that you would put in the IsoSkeyAcadBlockMap.xml in the isometric folder of your project. Make sure to place the 3 basic codes carefully so that you don't make the xml impossible to navigate.

 

Go to said XML file and check out what that is all about. The Excel sheet will reflect the default values and then you can take it from there.

 

Here is how it works:

 

1. make a valve symbol reference to the AcadBlock in the IsoSymbolStyles.dwg

2. place the valve actuator skey and AcadBlock definition that you want the block to have

       note: the SkeyMap code that links the valve block and actuator together in the iso

3. Copy and paste the three codes in the correct locations

 

No typos allowed. :smileywink:

 

Feel free to ask if you have any questions.

 

Shoot... I forgot that the forum does not allow for attachments. Is there anyone interested in this Excel file? If so, tell me how to get it to you.

 

Thanks,

David R

 

 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Plant 3D Category!

The AutoCAD Plant 3D forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.