AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

Reply
Member
MadCadder_REC
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-02-2009
Message 1 of 7 (902 Views)

Incorrect dimensions in CISC structural members.

902 Views, 6 Replies
08-24-2012 02:15 PM

Has anyone else noticed this?

 

The "W" shape structural members under the CISC standard have incorrect dimensions.  The web thicknesses are greater than the flange thicknesses.  In fact the two dimensions have been swapped.  The AISC equivalent members are correct.  We need the ability to edit the structural catalog.  Can anyone help/advise?

 

TNT

*Expert Elite*
dave.wolfe
Posts: 731
Registered: ‎12-04-2009
Message 2 of 7 (874 Views)

Re: Incorrect dimensions in CISC structural members.

08-25-2012 05:49 PM in reply to: MadCadder_REC

Yep.  I use a database editor called SQLite Expert (there's a free version).

 

http://www.sqliteexpert.com/download.html  

Dave Wolfe
Isaiah 57:15

ECAD, Inc.
Tips and Tricks on our blog: Process Design, from the Outside

A P3D Authorized Reseller
Plant 3d Wish list: https://plant3d.uservoice.com/
Valued Contributor
patpat78
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎06-20-2011
Message 3 of 7 (550 Views)

Re: Incorrect dimensions in CISC structural members.

12-06-2012 07:31 AM in reply to: dave.wolfe

hello dave do you have any information for editing structural members 

 

i install sqlite expert and open the structural database but after how can i creat a new shape standard? with new shape style and new material standart?

 

can u help me with this

 

thank's

Member
MadCadder_REC
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-02-2009
Message 4 of 7 (544 Views)

Re: Incorrect dimensions in CISC structural members.

12-06-2012 07:40 AM in reply to: patpat78

patpat78,

 

You may not have to do this.  I noticed a "AutoCAD Plant 3D 2013 Service Pack 1".

In the README file is states "Structural steel dimensions for some shapes were incorrect."

I have not had the chance to confirm if these were the shapes to be fixed.

 

Just thought you may want to apply this update before editing the database via sqllite.

 

TNT

*Expert Elite*
dave.wolfe
Posts: 731
Registered: ‎12-04-2009
Message 5 of 7 (540 Views)

Re: Incorrect dimensions in CISC structural members.

12-06-2012 07:41 AM in reply to: MadCadder_REC

Yes, I believe the service pack fixed the issue, but haven't had a chance to check it out.

Dave Wolfe
Isaiah 57:15

ECAD, Inc.
Tips and Tricks on our blog: Process Design, from the Outside

A P3D Authorized Reseller
Plant 3d Wish list: https://plant3d.uservoice.com/
Valued Contributor
patpat78
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎06-20-2011
Message 6 of 7 (535 Views)

Re: Incorrect dimensions in CISC structural members.

12-06-2012 07:43 AM in reply to: dave.wolfe

hello i see that in the sP1 

 

but it's not what i want 

 

i whant to  creat a new type of  shape standard with new shape style and new material standart

 

thank's 

*Expert Elite*
dave.wolfe
Posts: 731
Registered: ‎12-04-2009
Message 7 of 7 (526 Views)

Re: Incorrect dimensions in CISC structural members.

12-06-2012 07:49 AM in reply to: patpat78

There is not documentation on how to do that at this time.

Dave Wolfe
Isaiah 57:15

ECAD, Inc.
Tips and Tricks on our blog: Process Design, from the Outside

A P3D Authorized Reseller
Plant 3d Wish list: https://plant3d.uservoice.com/
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Plant 3D Category!

The AutoCAD Plant 3D forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.