AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
vannmannen
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎12-16-2011
Message 1 of 6 (849 Views)

Import / Export SPEC to Excel

849 Views, 5 Replies
12-16-2011 01:38 PM

Hi. My company just purchased plant 3D and it looks like a great package.

 

Issue: when I key-in information for a straight asme tee in the spec editor, there are 3 columns where you can manually input wall thickness.

Exporting the spec to excel: I only get option to key-in wall thickness in 1 column (and not 3 separate columns like in the spec editor). When importing the file back to spec editor, no wall thickness information I keyed-in is reflected in the spec :smileysad:

 

What to do?

Employee
rajsekarpillai
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎08-12-2010
Message 2 of 6 (819 Views)

Re: Import / Export SPEC to Excel

12-19-2011 12:19 AM in reply to: vannmannen

Hi,

 

The dimension parameters can’t be edited though Excel spread sheet.

The only workaround that I could think, use the Catalog editor to set the dimension values and add the components into Spec again.

 

Thanks & Regards,



S. R. Rajasekaran
Product Manager
Plant Solutions - AEC
Autodesk, Inc.

Valued Mentor
ybogdanov
Posts: 385
Registered: ‎07-07-2011
Message 3 of 6 (798 Views)

Re: Import / Export SPEC to Excel

12-19-2011 03:42 PM in reply to: rajsekarpillai

Or Catalog Builder (version beta) and than export the excel to exist catalog.

-----------------------------------------------------------
Yury Bogdanov
ASIDEK(Grupo CT) - Partner Directo de Autodesk
Barcelona (Spain)
Employee
rajsekarpillai
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎08-12-2010
Message 4 of 6 (795 Views)

Re: Import / Export SPEC to Excel

12-19-2011 05:55 PM in reply to: ybogdanov

Hi,

 

The Catalog builder is not editor of existing Catalog. The Catalog builder is very useful when you create new Catalog.

 

Thanks & Regards,



S. R. Rajasekaran
Product Manager
Plant Solutions - AEC
Autodesk, Inc.

Valued Contributor
Jorgen1990
Posts: 56
Registered: ‎11-08-2011
Message 5 of 6 (673 Views)

Re: Import / Export SPEC to Excel

06-20-2012 06:37 AM in reply to: vannmannen

Hi! I'm facing the same problem. Is there still no better solution that typing wall thicknesses in in the catalog editor? I have an EN fittings catalog (elbows, tees, reducers) where I want to add wall thicknesses and even more, I want to create each size with multiple wall thicknesses to choose from. Assigning the wall thicknesses manually in the catalog editor would be enormously time consuming (key in wall thickness->"all ports have the same properties"->"save to catalog" for each single part in the catalog). Isn't there any workaround to get to enter the wall thichnesses in Excel?

 

Cheers,

Jörgen

Valued Contributor
Jorgen1990
Posts: 56
Registered: ‎11-08-2011
Message 6 of 6 (665 Views)

Re: Import / Export SPEC to Excel

06-21-2012 05:36 AM in reply to: Jorgen1990

And also, in the spec editor, when I want to duplicate one size in a part family and click "duplicate size", I expect the dimensions and long descrition (size) to remain the same, but somehow these fields are all blank after duplicating, so "duplicate size" button gives the same results as "new size". Is this some kind of a bug? I am using Spec Editor 2013.

 

Jörgen

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Plant 3D Category!

The AutoCAD Plant 3D forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.