AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
vannmannen
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎12-16-2011
Message 1 of 6 (654 Views)
Accepted Solution

How to use LAPPED FLANGE?

654 Views, 5 Replies
01-11-2013 12:16 AM

I do not get to the bottom of this and I have tried all sorts things in Plant 3D.

 

My spec has got LAPPED FLANGE (RF/LF), STUB END (RF/BE) and all valves are RF/RF.

 

The STUB END in Plant 3D has got a LAP connection by default. In the model this STUB does not even show a connection point on the flange side. It appears as a connector. How can I make this work?

 

Pic 1 shows no snap-point at flange side

Pic 2 shoes snap-point on the welded side of flange

Hi Trygve,

 

I have looked for the properties of the flange and valve which have attached here. So for a valid connection it is defined in your project that the NominalDiameter, the PressureClass and the Facing of the connected ports are the same.

 

For your flange I can see that the properties are

for the port S1:

NominalDiameter = 8

PressureClass = 150

Facing = FF

 

for the port S2:

NominalDiameter = 8

PressureClass = 150

Facing = no value

 

For your valve the values are

for the port S1:

NominalDiameter = 8

PressureClass = 150

Facing = RF

 

NominalDiameter = 8

PressureClass = 150

Facing = RF

 

So the facing for the valves and the flange are different. You have to redefine your properties here, so a match is possible.

 

Please, inform us if we could help you.

 

Regards

Bernd

Employee
TomislavGolubovic
Posts: 545
Registered: ‎12-01-2010
Message 2 of 6 (609 Views)

Re: How to use LAPPED FLANGE?

01-13-2013 02:56 PM in reply to: vannmannen

Are you trying to connect to an END osnap? Try the NODE osnap.



Tomislav Golubovic
Plant Solutions Engineer
Autodesk Australia / New Zealand
Autodesk, Inc.

Valued Contributor
vannmannen
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎12-16-2011
Message 3 of 6 (576 Views)

Re: How to use LAPPED FLANGE?

01-15-2013 07:32 PM in reply to: TomislavGolubovic

Thanks for your suggestion.

 

The components connect when I use the NODE snap ut I get error message and there is a leakage. See attachment.

Employee
TomislavGolubovic
Posts: 545
Registered: ‎12-01-2010
Message 4 of 6 (564 Views)

Re: How to use LAPPED FLANGE?

01-15-2013 09:35 PM in reply to: vannmannen

The error message is telling you to check the 3 properties. Check one against the other and see what the difference is. When you find the conflicting properties, you'll have to take steps to rectify it, either by editing the properties again or the connection rules.



Tomislav Golubovic
Plant Solutions Engineer
Autodesk Australia / New Zealand
Autodesk, Inc.

Product Support
gersteb
Posts: 169
Registered: ‎09-20-2010
Message 5 of 6 (530 Views)

Re: How to use LAPPED FLANGE?

01-18-2013 01:21 AM in reply to: vannmannen

Hi Trygve,

 

I have looked for the properties of the flange and valve which have attached here. So for a valid connection it is defined in your project that the NominalDiameter, the PressureClass and the Facing of the connected ports are the same.

 

For your flange I can see that the properties are

for the port S1:

NominalDiameter = 8

PressureClass = 150

Facing = FF

 

for the port S2:

NominalDiameter = 8

PressureClass = 150

Facing = no value

 

For your valve the values are

for the port S1:

NominalDiameter = 8

PressureClass = 150

Facing = RF

 

NominalDiameter = 8

PressureClass = 150

Facing = RF

 

So the facing for the valves and the flange are different. You have to redefine your properties here, so a match is possible.

 

Please, inform us if we could help you.

 

Regards

Bernd



Bernd Gerstenberger
Valued Contributor
vannmannen
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎12-16-2011
Message 6 of 6 (523 Views)

Re: How to use LAPPED FLANGE?

01-18-2013 01:45 AM in reply to: gersteb

I have found a solution to this problem.

 

The thing is that the lapped flange is RF in my piping spec while the default Plant 3D catalog only offer FF facing for lapped flange. Did a duplication of the FF lapped flange and changed facing to RF.

 

Voilà !!!!

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Plant 3D Category!

The AutoCAD Plant 3D forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.