AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

Reply
*Patrick
Message 1 of 7 (1,453 Views)

Has anyone used Plant 3D on a major project yet.

1453 Views, 6 Replies
05-22-2010 05:04 AM
We are about to make the decision to continue with CadWorx or start
integrating AutoCAD Plant 3D.

I have a background setting up CadWorx on major projects, I know what it can
do and basically I could find a way to do iso out most items. User parts
were very helpful.

Has anybody used AutoCAD 3D Plant on a major project (600 lines and above)
if so what limitations did you find.

Thanks in advance.
Valued Contributor
MMSW
Posts: 56
Registered: ‎09-11-2009
Message 2 of 7 (1,451 Views)

Re: Has anyone used Plant 3D on a major project yet.

05-23-2010 06:11 PM in reply to: *Patrick
Patrick,

Based on your previous post and to my surprise I thought you have already done some large projects in AutoCAD Plant 3D,
http://discussion.autodesk.com/forums/thread.jspa?threadID=769358&tstart=30

Anyway, we tried to use AutoCad Plant 3D in a real project and we were totally disappointed, it is practically impossible. If you take a look at the previous posts in this forum you will find hundreds of problems people have had with this software where only one them is enough to make it impossible to finish a project successfully with AutoCAD Plant 3D.

just to mention a few major ones:

1-AutoCad Plant 3D sometimes losses inteligence or changes part properties with no reason and you loose all your work easily, this makes the software completely unreliable.

2- When generating Isometric drawings, AutoCAD Plant 3D does not show references correctly. It would not be easy to go through 600+ Iso drawings to see what is connected to what and edit them manually.

3- in our case AutoCad Plant 3D could not generate Ortho drawings at all means there was no way we could have piping plans.

4-You can't have instruments, proper custom parts and valve operators,equipment nozzles, ... in your model.

I don't see why Autodesk compromised it's reputation and released the software with all these problems. I highly recommend you not to set up your project in AutoCAD Plant 3D, at least not the 2010 version.

Regards
*Peter Quinn
Message 3 of 7 (1,451 Views)

Re: Has anyone used Plant 3D on a major project yet.

05-24-2010 02:12 PM in reply to: *Patrick
MMSW,

Thanks for your feedback. I understand your frustration with Plant 3D 2010.
We've heard these issues and are addressing most, if not all, of them in a
future release. If you are interested, we have a beta of the next version
available that you can download on the beta site: https://beta.autodesk.com/

Peter Quinn (Autodesk)

wrote in message news:6395958@discussion.autodesk.com...
Patrick,

Based on your previous post and to my surprise I thought you have already
done some large projects in AutoCAD Plant 3D,
http://discussion.autodesk.com/forums/thread.jspa?threadID=769358&tstart=30

Anyway, we tried to use AutoCad Plant 3D in a real project and we were
totally disappointed, it is practically impossible. If you take a look at
the previous posts in this forum you will find hundreds of problems people
have had with this software where only one them is enough to make it
impossible to finish a project successfully with AutoCAD Plant 3D.

just to mention a few major ones:

1-AutoCad Plant 3D sometimes losses inteligence or changes part properties
with no reason and you loose all your work easily, this makes the software
completely unreliable.

2- When generating Isometric drawings, AutoCAD Plant 3D does not show
references correctly. It would not be easy to go through 600+ Iso drawings
to see what is connected to what and edit them manually.

3- in our case AutoCad Plant 3D could not generate Ortho drawings at all
means there was no way we could have piping plans.

4-You can't have instruments, proper custom parts and valve
operators,equipment nozzles, ... in your model.

I don't see why Autodesk compromised it's reputation and released the
software with all these problems. I highly recommend you not to set up your
project in AutoCAD Plant 3D, at least not the 2010 version.

Regards
*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,226
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 4 of 7 (1,451 Views)

Re: Has anyone used Plant 3D on a major project yet.

05-27-2010 03:50 PM in reply to: *Patrick
For first generation software, its good - it really is. IMO in another two releases it will be competetive with the established packages. Performance and integration with other platforms (including a neutral-format specification) are the two biggest barriers I see at the moment.
----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


Distinguished Contributor
FProcp
Posts: 152
Registered: ‎10-21-2009
Message 5 of 7 (1,451 Views)

Re: Has anyone used Plant 3D on a major project yet.

05-31-2010 11:49 PM in reply to: *Patrick
This software has been released way TOO EARLY!!!

It does have a lot of potential, it's really nice to use but I believe it is NOT CAPABLE of completing a large project.

I can't wait until it is capable because as I said, it is very EASY AND NICE to use compared to other Plant Design software.

But it's like buying a car that is not able to drive you to where you want to go. I think in that case you would get your money back.
Unfortunately we don't have the same purchaser protection rules with software.
Franc
inventor :-)
Contributor
JwdD3Technologies
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎05-21-2010
Message 6 of 7 (1,397 Views)

Re: Has anyone used Plant 3D on a major project yet.

06-11-2010 06:15 AM in reply to: FProcp

It’s important to realize that Plant 3D is new on the market and it will take some time (and a lot of customer feedback) to get it to where it needs to be.

 

I think Autodesk realized that it had to get into the plant design market sooner or later and in this case, they produced a product on the AutoCAD platform and delivered it to customers as quickly as they could. They could have waited say, 3 years with development and testing but that’s another 3 years gone by with no real-world user feedback on the product.

 

Once the software code is streamlined and the performance issues are fixed, I’m sure AutoCAD Plant 3D will rank right up there with the other products on the market.

Jason Drew
Process Plant Application Engineer
D3 Technologies
Distinguished Contributor
jerry.bryant
Posts: 173
Registered: ‎10-23-2003
Message 7 of 7 (1,124 Views)

Re: Has anyone used Plant 3D on a major project yet.

07-09-2010 10:51 AM in reply to: MMSW

So what do you use now......now that you have determined you can't use AutoCAD PLant 3D.

Jerry Bryant
"Swing hard and hope you hit it!"
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Plant 3D Category!

The AutoCAD Plant 3D forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.