AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

Reply
Contributor
jpeters
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎02-14-2012
Message 1 of 24 (916 Views)
Accepted Solution

Flanged Piping Questions

916 Views, 23 Replies
03-08-2012 08:52 AM

Hi,

 

I’m fairly new to Plant 3D (2012) and have a couple questions about flanged pipe:

 

1.) I can’t see a simple way to create a Flanged x Plain End pipe without using custom geometry.  This configuration doesn’t seem to be available when creating a new component.  I can create a pipe with a FL and PL port, but it graphically still shows two flanges in the model.  It seems like this should be a standard option…

 

2.) I’m looking for a way to connect two Flange x Flange pipes together without losing the flange connection in the middle.  An example would be a 20’ run of flanged pipe.  Say I can only get this pipe in a 17’-6” length.  I would need an intermediate joint and two spools of pipe to build this.  I’ve tried creating a flange component but it ends up changing one of the pipes to PLxPL, adds other un-needed parts and duplicates gaskets.  Is there a “break” command that forces an intermediate joint?

 

On a related note, I would love to see the addition (if it doesn’t already exist) of a Max Pipe length parameter in the catalog that would limit the length of pipe drawn.  When this limit is reached on a run, a flange connection would be added and a new pipe began.  This parameter should be per size since some manufactures have different maximum lengths based on nominal diameter.  Flanged US Pipe is a good example.

 

Thanks! -Jason

Contributor
jpeters
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎02-14-2012
Message 2 of 24 (914 Views)

Re: Flanged Piping Questions

03-08-2012 09:36 AM in reply to: jpeters

So I think I found a work around to question #1.  I just chose a FLxFL pipe and changed the dimension parameters of one end to match the actual pipe.  I then identified Port 2 a PL.  This should work right?

 

Still need any help I can get for question #2.

 

Thx

*Expert Elite*
dave.wolfe
Posts: 683
Registered: ‎12-04-2009
Message 3 of 24 (906 Views)

Re: Flanged Piping Questions

03-08-2012 11:02 AM in reply to: jpeters

Yes, it will you can also set L2 to -2 and the flange won't be generated for port 2 (it uses the pipe size).

Dave Wolfe
Isaiah 57:15

ECAD, Inc.
Tips and Tricks on our blog: Process Design, from the Outside

A P3D Authorized Reseller
Plant 3d Wish list: https://plant3d.uservoice.com/
Contributor
jpeters
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎02-14-2012
Message 4 of 24 (903 Views)

Re: Flanged Piping Questions

03-08-2012 11:06 AM in reply to: dave.wolfe

Great tip, thanks!  I didn't notice the tool tip.  Any thoughts the other question?

*Expert Elite*
dave.wolfe
Posts: 683
Registered: ‎12-04-2009
Message 5 of 24 (901 Views)

Re: Flanged Piping Questions

03-08-2012 11:12 AM in reply to: jpeters

Yea, I forgot to read the second question.  You can set up a joint for flange connection.  For example, in my catalog, I used the LFL end type for lined flanges.  I get up a new joint connection that had bolts only (no gasket).  They when I drop in the valves, it shortens the flanged pipe appropriately.  

 

I agree on the catalog editor deal and pipe runs.  The pipe lengths is a property of the part that can be ordered from the manufacturer AND it can be a standard set in the project.  We should be able to set the length the catalog and then override it as a project setting if we need to.

 

Please mark my post as the answer if it answers your question.  Marking answers helps other find solutions faster.  Thanks!

Dave Wolfe
Isaiah 57:15

ECAD, Inc.
Tips and Tricks on our blog: Process Design, from the Outside

A P3D Authorized Reseller
Plant 3d Wish list: https://plant3d.uservoice.com/
Contributor
jpeters
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎02-14-2012
Message 6 of 24 (897 Views)

Re: Flanged Piping Questions

03-08-2012 11:34 AM in reply to: dave.wolfe

Dave, thanks for the quick response.  Sorry, but I'm not following you.  Are you creating a "dumby" valve to force the pipe to break.  Does the valve essentially represent the gasket?  How does this affect the Isos and bill of materials?  I'll have to do a little testing on this one...

 

I am a contractor so these sort of details are really important to us to be able to estimate and order material correctly.  Thanks,

 

-Jason

*Expert Elite*
dave.wolfe
Posts: 683
Registered: ‎12-04-2009
Message 7 of 24 (895 Views)

Re: Flanged Piping Questions

03-08-2012 11:37 AM in reply to: jpeters

No, if you set a Joint the pipe will recognize when an object with the matching end connections is placed and put in the appropriate connectors.

 

Setting up the joints is the only way to get the correct Bill of materials.

Dave Wolfe
Isaiah 57:15

ECAD, Inc.
Tips and Tricks on our blog: Process Design, from the Outside

A P3D Authorized Reseller
Plant 3d Wish list: https://plant3d.uservoice.com/
Contributor
jpeters
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎02-14-2012
Message 8 of 24 (893 Views)

Re: Flanged Piping Questions

03-08-2012 11:56 AM in reply to: dave.wolfe

I understand how joints work pretty well, but my problem is connecting two similar pipes and not losing the joint.  Say in real life, I have two 10' long FLxFL pipes bolted together... how do I model this without losing that joint?  See attachment...

*Expert Elite*
dave.wolfe
Posts: 683
Registered: ‎12-04-2009
Message 9 of 24 (890 Views)

Re: Flanged Piping Questions

03-08-2012 12:01 PM in reply to: jpeters

With the joint defined, select the pipe and use the PLANTWELDADD command.

 

On the note above about using -2, you have to put in the Pipe Od for D22, unless you just want engagement.

Dave Wolfe
Isaiah 57:15

ECAD, Inc.
Tips and Tricks on our blog: Process Design, from the Outside

A P3D Authorized Reseller
Plant 3d Wish list: https://plant3d.uservoice.com/
Contributor
jpeters
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎02-14-2012
Message 10 of 24 (885 Views)

Re: Flanged Piping Questions

03-08-2012 12:29 PM in reply to: dave.wolfe

Using that command I'm unable to select the pipe for some reason.  I'll keep researching in that direction...

 

Thanks for all your help, I appreciate it!

 

-Jason

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Plant 3D Category!

The AutoCAD Plant 3D forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.