AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

Reply
Active Contributor
snijdam
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎07-10-2012
Message 1 of 5 (1,173 Views)
Accepted Solution

Export from p3d to inventor

1173 Views, 4 Replies
09-05-2012 01:55 PM

I know this a strange workflow. Our client has only inventor. I need to make a pipedesign in a factory. I want to use my plant 3d software. After the projec at the client he needs to maintain and edit the model for future purposes. Is it possible to export my plant 3d work to inventor letting my client edit the piping. It is no problem that data and connections were lost. What file format is best?

You can import a 'dumb' Plant3D model into Inventor. Type EXPORTTOAUTOCAD and create a new 'dumb' DWG file of your Plant model.

 

As for continued editing, it will be limiting in what they can do, if anything in Inventor with the Plant entities.

Employee
TomislavGolubovic
Posts: 550
Registered: ‎12-01-2010
Message 2 of 5 (1,163 Views)

Re: Export from p3d to inventor

09-05-2012 03:41 PM in reply to: snijdam

You can import a 'dumb' Plant3D model into Inventor. Type EXPORTTOAUTOCAD and create a new 'dumb' DWG file of your Plant model.

 

As for continued editing, it will be limiting in what they can do, if anything in Inventor with the Plant entities.



Tomislav Golubovic
Plant Solutions Engineer
Autodesk Australia / New Zealand
Autodesk, Inc.

Valued Mentor
Rich.O.3d
Posts: 526
Registered: ‎08-19-2008
Message 3 of 5 (1,160 Views)

Re: Export from p3d to inventor

09-05-2012 03:58 PM in reply to: snijdam

consider:

doing the piping in Inventor Pro (routed systems)

then dump PCF from inventor and import into Plant3d for creating ISO

 

not sure if it will fly, but in theory, and from the autodesk advertising blurb, it should be possible

CAD Management 101:
You can do it your own way,
If its done just how I say!
[Metallica:And Justice For All:1988]
Product Support
gersteb
Posts: 171
Registered: ‎09-20-2010
Message 4 of 5 (1,108 Views)

Re: Export from p3d to inventor

09-14-2012 05:46 AM in reply to: snijdam

Hi snijdam,

 

Could Tomislav help you? Please, mark it as solved. Otherwise let us know.

 

Thanks

Bernd



Bernd Gerstenberger
Contributor
halitomi
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎10-24-2011
Message 5 of 5 (65 Views)

Re: Export from p3d to inventor

11-04-2014 04:20 AM in reply to: TomislavGolubovic

Thank you!

 

Helpped me out too for importing plant 3d piping to inventor.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Plant 3D Category!

The AutoCAD Plant 3D forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!