AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
David_Metcalf
Posts: 64
Registered: ‎04-30-2008
Message 1 of 7 (425 Views)

Export by area

425 Views, 6 Replies
02-15-2013 11:04 AM

When we have a plant project defined by area and reports need to be sent to Excel tabbed as such by area. So how will we accomplish this from within Plant 3D?

 

I read from the helpguide that is not possible. http://autode.sk/Ykr5v6

 

Any workarounds to this limitation?

 

Thanks,

David

 

 

Distinguished Contributor
Arun_Kumar_K
Posts: 454
Registered: ‎06-03-2012
Message 2 of 7 (393 Views)

Re: Export by area

02-16-2013 04:04 AM in reply to: David_Metcalf
for each area you should do it in separate drawings, then you can. this will be a workaround only.
Mentor
cadwomen
Posts: 153
Registered: ‎08-31-2003
Message 3 of 7 (372 Views)

Betreff: Export by area

02-17-2013 03:22 AM in reply to: David_Metcalf

if i understand right, why you not just add a Field "area" then you are able to make a selektion

or like the poster bevor said , make a extra drawing

 

cu cw

If my post answers your question, please mark it as an Accepted Solution, so that others can find answers quickly!
Employee
JarrodMudford
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎09-05-2012
Message 4 of 7 (307 Views)

Re: Export by area

03-07-2013 05:54 PM in reply to: David_Metcalf

Set up a property called "Area" under engineering items. This could be an acquisition of the Area from the drawing. But not entirely necessary.

Create a new Data Manager view called Area, based on the project, and create a single level based on the "Area" property.

Then when in your data manager, go to this new view. If you export to excel from the top of the tree, and making sure that "Active node and all child nodes" is slected, this will break it out to different sheets within your excel file.

If my post answers your question, please mark it as an Accepted Solution, so that others can find answers quickly!



Jarrod Mudford
Plant Solutions Consultant
Global Services
Autodesk, Inc.
Valued Contributor
David_Metcalf
Posts: 64
Registered: ‎04-30-2008
Message 5 of 7 (260 Views)

Re: Export by area

03-11-2013 02:53 PM in reply to: JarrodMudford

Thanks Guys,

 

Jarred, 

 

In trying your suggestion, I found a property set called Drawing Area that when the Drawing Properties are accessed in the Project Manager (select the dwg and right click on it to access Properties) we can then populate the field of each dwg in the project with the appropriate area number.

 

Question remain how to set up the export of the report so that an area is exported into each worksheet in one workbook. I have yet to find a way other than export each drawing. As your last remark "Then when in your data manager, go to this new view. If you export to excel from the top of the tree, and making sure that "Active node and all child nodes" is selected, this will break it out to different sheets within your excel file." has me a bit confused as this might seem to be a Report Creator function and not Data Manager function.

 

I might be missing something but getting warmer. Needing to go to each drawing and export separately is a little tendious.

 

Marcos.png

 

David

Valued Contributor
David_Metcalf
Posts: 64
Registered: ‎04-30-2008
Message 6 of 7 (230 Views)

Re: Export by area

03-13-2013 09:24 AM in reply to: David_Metcalf

I am sticking to this process because I have a user wishing to generate reports to excel tabbed into Excel worksheets in a workbook. I am sure he is aware of the workaround and can asseble the areas from seperate Excel files into one with the areas tabbed to worksheets. Per Jarred's suggestion I found I could make a new property called Plant_Area and use Drawing Area to sort out by that parameter. The images below show the steps.

Tabbing1.png

 

Browse down to Engineering Items per Jarred and then select Add.

tabbing2.png

Name the property as appropriate.

tabbing3.png

Go to drawings tab and Select the General Properties to use Drawing Area as a property.

 

tabbing4.png

Then pick each dwg and add to it's properties the Drawing Area a number 001. 002, etc.

tabbing5.png

tabbing6.png

Then Set in Data Manager the Plant Area column to acquire to data from Drawing Area. I believe the drawing must be open to populate the data in the cells. Not sure yet.

tabbing7.png

Data from Drawing Area populates in the Plant Area Parameter.tabbing8.png

I have yet to figure out how to export so that each area goes to a separate  worksheet within  a workbook. Will the report Creator do this process?

 

Thanks,

David

 

 

Employee
BuddyLegnon
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎11-04-2010
Message 7 of 7 (175 Views)

Re: Export by area

03-28-2013 05:48 AM in reply to: David_Metcalf

Hello guys,

 

Let me just add some perspective here. I know that the original post requested to run these reports from within the Plant environment. However the best method for that is the Report Creator tool. It allows you to run a variety of reports, custom create your own, and select which models in the project you want to run. So parting the project up in to sections is easy to do, and the excel report you created reflects that.

 

There is some work and setup required to do it from within the Plant enviroment that seems to be more tidous that just using the report writer.

 

Here is a video on report writer: http://docs.autodesk.com/PLNT3D/2013/ENU/plant/pip/autocadplant3d_video_rc1_v3.html

                                              http://docs.autodesk.com/PLNT3D/2013/ENU/plant/pip/autocadplant3d_video_rc2_v3.html

 

not trying to hijack the thread, but the RW is purpose built to perform the functions that seem to be needed here.

Roland “Buddy” Legnon

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If my post answers your question, please click the "Accept as Solution" button (you must be logged in). This helps everyone find answers more quickly.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Plant 3D Category!

The AutoCAD Plant 3D forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!