AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

Reply
Contributor
agutak
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎09-13-2012
Message 1 of 6 (622 Views)
Accepted Solution

ERROR in Catalog Builder - Creating block based part

622 Views, 5 Replies
10-20-2012 03:54 PM

I want to create my custom Tee catalog

1) I draw a tee in Inventor 2013

2) Export it as *.adsk (also I've tried as *.dwg)

3) Import it in Plant3D 2013, convert to Block, convert with PLANTPARTCONVERT and save this file.

 

Then when I'm trying to open it in Catalog Builder I have: "Invalid Dwg file :eNotAllowedForThisProxy". What is wrong?

 

Please, help me to finish my job!

Anatol D. Gutak

I've tried all this but it doesn't work.

I found a solution for this problem. I export my inventor assembly as *.sat, then import it in Plant3D and then convert to block and plantpartconvert.

In this way I can import my created *.dwg in Catalog Builder

Product Support
Venkatesan.A
Posts: 80
Registered: ‎05-31-2011
Message 2 of 6 (577 Views)

Re: ERROR in Catalog Builder - Creating block based part

10-23-2012 01:19 AM in reply to: agutak

Hi,

 

eNotAllowedForThisProxy exception error means that the drawing contains some hidden Proxy objects, can you purge the dwg and try again?



Venkatesan.A
Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.
Active Member
fedorafly
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-27-2011
Message 3 of 6 (510 Views)

Mark for learning.

10-31-2012 10:58 PM in reply to: agutak

Mark for learning.

Contributor
agutak
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎09-13-2012
Message 4 of 6 (499 Views)

Re: ERROR in Catalog Builder - Creating block based part

11-01-2012 08:59 AM in reply to: agutak

I've tried all this but it doesn't work.

I found a solution for this problem. I export my inventor assembly as *.sat, then import it in Plant3D and then convert to block and plantpartconvert.

In this way I can import my created *.dwg in Catalog Builder

Anatol D. Gutak
Valued Mentor
Rich.O.3d
Posts: 526
Registered: ‎08-19-2008
Message 5 of 6 (486 Views)

Re: ERROR in Catalog Builder - Creating block based part

11-01-2012 06:23 PM in reply to: agutak

my method:

 

from your part in inventor

hit save as...Save Copy As

select autocad dwg file from the file type pull down

select options....detick all but solids

this will give you a nice autocad object, open the dwg, purge all, and move the solid to have the wcs origin where you want it.

for catalogs i then put all of one type (such as equal tees) in the one file (keep them as blocks)

this makes it much easier to manage and select from the cat builder.

 

ps you dont need to remodel everything, i pull most of my stuff from the content centre

CAD Management 101:
You can do it your own way,
If its done just how I say!
[Metallica:And Justice For All:1988]
Member
atul_0775
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-06-2012
Message 6 of 6 (397 Views)

Re: ERROR in Catalog Builder - Creating block based part

12-03-2012 02:07 AM in reply to: agutak

same problem i face. i am make one of model in plant 3d and make block then used plantpartconvert command and set the ip point (as per plant3d vedio shown) and when go to catlogeditor set all point. and save part not to config with part.png file.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Plant 3D Category!

The AutoCAD Plant 3D forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.