AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
JRPalmer
Posts: 85
Registered: ‎03-10-2011
Message 1 of 9 (613 Views)

DRL Pipes

613 Views, 8 Replies
06-09-2011 07:16 PM

Is there a way I set a limit for piping to never exceed 40 ft or some other number?

Valued Contributor
bogdanov.y
Posts: 92
Registered: ‎11-02-2009
Message 2 of 9 (593 Views)

Re: DRL Pipes

06-10-2011 01:26 PM in reply to: JRPalmer

It's true. Is nesessary to do like this in next release:

Sin título.jpg

 

And install flange connection automatically every max length.

Valued Contributor
JRPalmer
Posts: 85
Registered: ‎03-10-2011
Message 3 of 9 (586 Views)

Re: DRL Pipes

06-10-2011 03:53 PM in reply to: bogdanov.y

What I was actually looking for was a way for the length of pipe to be no more then 40 ft, but then get welded onto another pipe in the iso drawing. The closest I can get to it right now is inserting a break at the 40 ft mark and hope people realize that they needs to be a weld there. I just have to figure out how to get the break to be at exactly 40 ft, and for the ISO to show that measurement. 

Valued Contributor
bogdanov.y
Posts: 92
Registered: ‎11-02-2009
Message 4 of 9 (579 Views)

Re: DRL Pipes

06-11-2011 01:00 AM in reply to: JRPalmer

For this you need to insert iso symbol in the model 3D, the name of symbol is "break point":

iso.jpg

 

 

To view this symbol in the 3D model after insert is nessessary activate Wireframe view, there is one small sphere.

 

iso1.jpg

Valued Contributor
JRPalmer
Posts: 85
Registered: ‎03-10-2011
Message 5 of 9 (549 Views)

Re: DRL Pipes

06-13-2011 02:39 PM in reply to: bogdanov.y

My problem is not placing in a break point just placing one in exactly where I want one. There seems to be no logic where they go, unless it is at a node.

Valued Mentor
Rich.O.3d
Posts: 525
Registered: ‎08-19-2008
Message 6 of 9 (545 Views)

Re: DRL Pipes

06-13-2011 04:03 PM in reply to: JRPalmer

MANUAL METHOD...you could add a custom part....

make an object (line or circle or donut or...)

turn to block...plantpartconvert (add 2 ports, starting from same point and going out in opp directions)....skey=WW (or WF for field weld), type=WELD

you can then use dynamic input to make it a distance (40ft?) from the last weld or fitting.

 

CAD Management 101:
You can do it your own way,
If its done just how I say!
[Metallica:And Justice For All:1988]
Valued Contributor
JRPalmer
Posts: 85
Registered: ‎03-10-2011
Message 7 of 9 (534 Views)

Re: DRL Pipes

06-14-2011 10:34 AM in reply to: JRPalmer

Thank you that worked very well.

Valued Contributor
JRPalmer
Posts: 85
Registered: ‎03-10-2011
Message 8 of 9 (499 Views)

Re: DRL Pipes

06-22-2011 10:05 AM in reply to: JRPalmer

It worked good for all of the Welds except the 3" weld, for some reason  it says can't connect Eccentric ports. I did the exact same thing for all the other welds that I did for the 3" weld.

 

Has anybody ran across this before and know how to fix it or know why it could be wrong?

Valued Mentor
Rich.O.3d
Posts: 525
Registered: ‎08-19-2008
Message 9 of 9 (444 Views)

Re: DRL Pipes

07-26-2011 04:04 PM in reply to: JRPalmer

plant is pretty niggly about alignment errors...change your units to max decimal places and measure your nodes you will probly find that there has been a rounding error while drafting...i find ones that for no apparrent reason are 0.00000234 units out of whack giving the misalign error...I sometimes need to remake custom parts 2 or 3 times doing seemingly the same thing every time and hey presto on go 3 it works (freud said the defenition of crazy is repeating the same process and expecting a different result...its official...plant, you make me crazy ;p )

CAD Management 101:
You can do it your own way,
If its done just how I say!
[Metallica:And Justice For All:1988]
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Plant 3D Category!

The AutoCAD Plant 3D forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.