AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

Reply
Mentor
Ahmed1081975
Posts: 220
Registered: ‎09-29-2011
Message 1 of 10 (1,255 Views)

Custom Valve actuator missing in isometric

1255 Views, 9 Replies
12-17-2012 11:10 AM

Hi all,

 

I have created a custom valve with actuator, I’m missing the actuator symbol with the valve when I mad isomeric, for

 

more clarification please refer to the attached screen shot..

Product Support
Dan.Scales
Posts: 325
Registered: ‎03-05-2010
Message 2 of 10 (1,145 Views)

Re: Custom Valve actuator missing in isometric

01-08-2013 08:46 AM in reply to: Ahmed1081975

Hi,

 

The mapping of operators in isometric symbols only works with Valves.

 

For an inline instrument you will need to create a new isometric symbol and SKEY for instruments with operators.

 

I will log a feature enhancement request for instruments to have a similar functionality to valves with regard to drawing the operator in the isometric.

 

Thanks,
Dan



Dan Scales
Mentor
Ahmed1081975
Posts: 220
Registered: ‎09-29-2011
Message 3 of 10 (1,135 Views)

Re: Custom Valve actuator missing in isometric

01-08-2013 11:22 AM in reply to: Dan.Scales

Thanks Dan, whene i can get an example for these issue??

 

Regards

 

Ahmed Helal

Product Support
Dan.Scales
Posts: 325
Registered: ‎03-05-2010
Message 4 of 10 (1,133 Views)

Re: Custom Valve actuator missing in isometric

01-09-2013 02:25 AM in reply to: Ahmed1081975

Hi Ahmed,

 

Try the following steps:

 

  • Open the project manager and go to "Isometric DWG Settings > Title Block and Display" and click "Edit Isometric Symbols".
  • Open an existing valve symbol edit so the operator required is part of the symbol and then SaveAs "Instrument-Inline-Op".
  • Exit out of the project manager and then browse to the IsoSkeyAcadBlockMap.xml file that is located in the Isometric folder of the project.
  • Add the following line to the Instrument Symbols section:


Instrument.png

  • Now when placing the inline instrument give it an SKEY that starts IO.

When the isometric is then generated it will use the Instrument-Inline-Op symbol rather than the Instrument-Inline block.

 

Thanks,

Dan



Dan Scales
Mentor
Ahmed1081975
Posts: 220
Registered: ‎09-29-2011
Message 5 of 10 (1,106 Views)

Re: Custom Valve actuator missing in isometric

01-10-2013 11:17 AM in reply to: Dan.Scales

Hi Dan,

 

Thanks for Your Reply, I miss understand the part Written Open an existing valve symbol edit so the

Operator required is part of the symbol and then Save As. First there is no Symbol valve with

Actuator symbol , there is no something call Save As in Edit Isometric Symbols can you please be more specific or give me screen shot

 

Regards,

 

Ahmed Helal

Product Support
Dan.Scales
Posts: 325
Registered: ‎03-05-2010
Message 6 of 10 (1,109 Views)

Re: Custom Valve actuator missing in isometric

01-10-2013 11:44 AM in reply to: Ahmed1081975

Hi Ahmed,

 

Here is a short video showing what I mean:

 

Instrument Operator

 

Thanks,

Dan



Dan Scales
Mentor
Ahmed1081975
Posts: 220
Registered: ‎09-29-2011
Message 7 of 10 (1,100 Views)

Re: Custom Valve actuator missing in isometric

01-10-2013 12:18 PM in reply to: Dan.Scales

Thanks Dan, I appreciate your fast reply

 

Ahmed Helal

New Member
AdeelN
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-14-2013
Message 8 of 10 (956 Views)

Re: Custom Valve actuator missing in isometric

04-10-2013 06:06 AM in reply to: Dan.Scales

Hi Dan.

 

Is the video clip that you have posted part of a longer clip, or a series of videos? The reason I ask is that I see in the left hand corner of the video a timer indicating 5 minutes, of which we only see 1:07, and I would love to see the remaining steps in setting up a custom Iso symbol. I found this clip most handy (sometimes reading a procedure just isn't clear enough), and would be overjoyed if there is more of it to see.

 

Thanks

Contributor
samans
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎10-29-2012
Message 9 of 10 (700 Views)

Re: Custom Valve actuator missing in isometric

12-10-2013 02:29 PM in reply to: Dan.Scales

Hi Don

 

Thanks for your post regarding inline instrument for ISO. I followed exact steps but for some reason I couldn't make it work. My outcome isometric still split to two sheet and not symbol apprear in iso

 

Please see attached snap shot

New Member
salivanted
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-26-2013
Message 10 of 10 (552 Views)

Re: Custom Valve actuator missing in isometric

04-12-2014 01:03 AM in reply to: samans

Hi samans

1- Open your custom Hand Whell operator that you conected to your custom valve, in Catalog Editor

 

2- In Piping Componant Properties Section, the TWO last fields should be fill (the "Iso Symbols SKEY" and the "Iso Symbol Tye" field)

dependon your operator type, you shod type the right SKEY

you can find the all SKEYs in "IsoSkeyAcadBlockMap.xml" that located in your Isometric Project folder. for example C:\my Project\Isometric

 

after that, your outcome isometric will not split and valve symbol and operator symbol apprear in iso...

see images:

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Plant 3D Category!

The AutoCAD Plant 3D forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.