AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

Reply
Active Contributor
Jan-TSpD
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎07-12-2011
Message 1 of 8 (1,281 Views)

Connection error stub-in

1281 Views, 7 Replies
09-20-2012 06:59 AM

Hello,

 

i have a main pipe 16" with a stub-in 10" positioned at the top of the main pipe. The stub-in cannot be moved across the main pipe with the grips. When i stretch it with the Autocad stretch command the connection between the main pipe and the stub-in is lost.

How can the position of the stub-in be moved?

 

Regards, Jan

Product Support
jason.drew
Posts: 324
Registered: ‎06-17-2010
Message 2 of 8 (1,262 Views)

Re: Connection error stub-in

09-20-2012 09:31 AM in reply to: Jan-TSpD

Here is the method I tested with Plant 3D 2012 and 2013:

 

1. Select the pipe coming off the header line

 

Step1.png

 

2. Make sure Ortho mode is turned on

 

3. Start the MOVE command

 

4. If you don't already have node snap turned on use SHIFT+right-click to use a node snap override and select the node of the stub-end connecting it to the main pipe:

 

step3.png

 

4. move the stub-end up or down the pipe run and click:

 

final.png

 

It should stay connected to the main pipe run.

 

If you have any questions please reply back. If this is an acceptable solution, please click the "Accept as solution" button to help others locate this information during a search.

Thank you,



Jason Drew
Premium Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.





If my post answers your question, please click the "Accept as Solution" button. This helps everyone find answers more quickly.
Active Contributor
Jan-TSpD
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎07-12-2011
Message 3 of 8 (1,234 Views)

Re: Connection error stub-in

09-21-2012 07:38 AM in reply to: Jan-TSpD

It works with a stub-in at the center of the run-pipe, but when the stub-in is placed top flat or bottem flat it does not work.

In the attachment a screenshot with both stub-ins.

 

regards, Jan

Active Contributor
Jan-TSpD
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎07-12-2011
Message 4 of 8 (1,237 Views)

Re: Connection error stub-in

09-21-2012 07:38 AM in reply to: Jan-TSpD

It works with a stub-in at the center of the run-pipe, but when the stub-in is placed top flat or bottem flat it does not work.

In the attachment a screenshot with both stub-ins.

 

regards, Jan

Product Support
jason.drew
Posts: 324
Registered: ‎06-17-2010
Message 5 of 8 (1,193 Views)

Re: Connection error stub-in

09-25-2012 01:03 PM in reply to: Jan-TSpD

Hi Jan,

 

My apologies, I did not try the offset stub-end while testing. I see the issue now. We have logged this with our product development team so they can look into the issue. I will keep you posted on any workarounds or hotfix/service packs to correct the problem.

 

Thank you,



Jason Drew
Premium Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.





If my post answers your question, please click the "Accept as Solution" button. This helps everyone find answers more quickly.
Active Contributor
scottscs71
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎03-29-2011
Message 6 of 8 (778 Views)

Re: Connection error stub-in

10-21-2013 09:22 AM in reply to: Jan-TSpD

Has there been any fix for this?  Please advise.


_________________________
Scott Hallmark
Sr. Applications Specialist
APPLIED SOFTWARE www.asti.com
LIVE LAB LEARNING
Inventor 2013 Certified Professional ~ My Plant3D Notes
Psalms 143:8
Active Contributor
Jan-TSpD
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎07-12-2011
Message 7 of 8 (775 Views)

Re: Connection error stub-in

10-21-2013 09:35 AM in reply to: Jan-TSpD

Hello, there is no fix yet.

 

regards, Jan

Employee
PeterQuinn
Posts: 333
Registered: ‎08-15-2007
Message 8 of 8 (730 Views)

Re: Connection error stub-in

10-23-2013 11:40 AM in reply to: Jan-TSpD

We've done a lot of work in this area recently and it's likely that this will be fixed in a future version.



Peter Quinn
Senior Product Manager
Autodesk, Inc.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Plant 3D Category!

The AutoCAD Plant 3D forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.