AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

Reply
Member
5 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎02-13-2012
Post 1 of 12

CATIA 3D model to AutoCAD Plant 3D

854 Views, 11 Replies
02-13-2012 02:21 PM

Is it possible to import CATIA 3D model to Plant 3D? If yes, how?

Our company is using CATIA for modeling complex parts then needs to import this to Plant 3D for piping layout.

If this is possible we will consider using Plant 3D to replace our current stone-age microstation.

Employee
564 Posts
51 Kudos
Registered: ‎12-01-2010
Post 2 of 12

Re: CATIA 3D model to AutoCAD Plant 3D

02-13-2012 06:16 PM in reply to: Leinar

Export CATIA to .dwg then XREF?



Tomislav Golubovic
Plant Solutions Engineer
Autodesk Australia / New Zealand
Autodesk, Inc.

Member
5 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎02-13-2012
Post 3 of 12

Re: CATIA 3D model to AutoCAD Plant 3D

02-14-2012 11:50 AM in reply to: TomislavGolubovic

Unfurtunately it's not possible to create (.dwg) file on catia.

I hope it's possible to import step file to Plant 3D, that's how we do on microstation to import catia model.

Valued Contributor
56 Posts
3 Kudos
Registered: ‎07-12-2011
Post 4 of 12

Re: CATIA 3D model to AutoCAD Plant 3D

02-14-2012 12:39 PM in reply to: Leinar

Try exporting to .sat, you can import .sat into P3D. I use Inventor to import .sat or.step then export to .dwg.

Member
5 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎02-13-2012
Post 5 of 12

Re: CATIA 3D model to AutoCAD Plant 3D

02-14-2012 02:43 PM in reply to: Leinar

that's also not available in catia, I tried inventor fusion and I can import catia then save as .dwg and it works. But I hope it's possible to purchase this as a tandem.

*Expert Elite*
5,737 Posts
501 Kudos
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Post 6 of 12

Re: CATIA 3D model to AutoCAD Plant 3D

02-14-2012 03:06 PM in reply to: Leinar

I've had CATIA-using clients provide IGES, but the resulting files are too large for practical use.  Probably one of the reasons they use CATIA in the first place...

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


Member
5 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎02-13-2012
Post 7 of 12

Re: CATIA 3D model to AutoCAD Plant 3D

02-14-2012 03:38 PM in reply to: Leinar

I mean is to purchase Plant 3D and Inventor Fusion as tandem software for our company. Could this be possible?

*Expert Elite*
7,859 Posts
651 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Post 8 of 12

Re: CATIA 3D model to AutoCAD Plant 3D

02-15-2012 08:44 AM in reply to: Leinar

inventor fusion is free add in that comes with most of the 2012 autocad based products not all

Plant 3D 2012 is one of them that inventor fusion doesn't come with it

 but you can download it from here: http://labs.autodesk.com/utilities/fusion/

Member
5 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎02-13-2012
Post 9 of 12

Re: CATIA 3D model to AutoCAD Plant 3D

02-19-2012 06:47 AM in reply to: DarrenP

how can I create a nozzle on the catia model that I converted to .dwg? is it also possible to build a nozzle in the specs editor to use on my 3D model that also links to P&ID nozzle tag?

 

New Member
1 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎06-23-2014
Post 10 of 12

Re: CATIA 3D model to AutoCAD Plant 3D

06-23-2014 09:24 AM in reply to: Leinar

In my opinion best way is to integrate the complete 3D model in Navisworks for review. Also it is better to keep a Gt inSD model with CATIA and can be used as interface model for Plant 3D. The interface model / Overal Layout can be converted to step file and import it to plant 3D. I was using catia for designing whole FPSO that includes Hull and Topside systems. An example of my work : http://www.offshoreenergytoday.com/dana-petroleum-orders-fpso-from-cosco-nantong/

 

 



Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Plant 3D Category!

The AutoCAD Plant 3D forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.