AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

Reply
Mentor
PatrickByrne
Posts: 165
Registered: ‎10-06-2010
Message 1 of 7 (1,923 Views)

Bolt Lengths and @@@

1923 Views, 6 Replies
11-14-2012 12:59 PM

This is just to confirm something.


In the catalog builder for bolts the length of the bolt is got from what is input as the Length in the “Piping Component Properties” section. When you add @@@ into the description Plant 3D inserts the bolt into the model and gets the length from the “Piping Component Properties” using a project setting to round the value up. In Plant 3D 2013 it looks up a bolt table to see if the length is available.

 

Is this correct as I was expecting a bigger improvement from CadWorx

Employee
lopezjo
Posts: 102
Registered: ‎07-26-2007
Message 2 of 7 (1,855 Views)

Re: Bolt Lengths and @@@

11-16-2012 10:22 AM in reply to: PatrickByrne

Hi Patrick,

 

I started to reply to this yesterday based on my previous experience implementing bolt sizes but soon realized it was changed last release cycle so I asked the author of the changes for some notes about it and here is his response:

 

 

I hope I can declare that with short words…

 

 

For bolt length calculation we check the FlangeThickness values defined at flange and bolt set

 

If both are equal (or one is not set) and it’s no wafer component we use the bolt length defined inside bolt set

 

But if both are different we subtract the bolt set FlangeThickness from bolt set bolt length, add the flange FlangeThickness

 

Now  look for the next possible bolt ‘standard’ length (if define – if not we round up to next 10)

 

If we look now into 10HS01 spec we see that the DN 50 flange has as defined FlangeThickness a length of 18.0 mm

 

image001.png 

Now let us have a look now into the bolt set definition. We see that there is FlangeThickness defined with 20.00 mm and an overall length 87.0 mm

 

 image002.png

 

We see that the bolt set and flange FlangeThickness are different so we have to recalculate (booth used flanges are equal)

 

87.0 20.0 20.0 + 18.0 + 18.0 = 83.0

 

So we get a new calculated bolt length 83.0 mm … the next possible ‘standard’ bolt length would be 85.0

 

 

This definitions and recalculations give us the possibility for easier use of different flange sheet thickness with the same base definition PressureClass, NominalDiameter, EndType, Facing for bolt set selection – that is otherwise problematic if we connect  an orifice flange with a welded flange … the orifice flange normally has a larger flange sheet for the instrument connections but the same base definitions so we would always get the same bolt length defined in bolt set.

So we have only 1 bolt set for the base properties with 1 standard FlangeThickness we used for base length and recalculate it if necessary.

 

 

if look like for

  • DN 100:   95.0 24.024.0 + 20.0 + 20.0=   87.0  -> next possible bolt length would be   90.0
  • DN 125:   99.0 26.026.0 + 22.0 + 22.0=   91.0 -> next possible bolt length would be    95.0
  • DN 150: 112.0 28.028.0 + 22.0 + 22.0 = 100.0 -> next possible bolt length would be 100.0

 

 

 

I hope this short overview help to understand the different bolt length values

 



Jorge Lopez
Software Architect
Autodesk Plant Solutions
Autodesk, Inc.

Valued Mentor
ybogdanov
Posts: 385
Registered: ‎07-07-2011
Message 3 of 7 (1,839 Views)

Re: Bolt Lengths and @@@

11-17-2012 02:46 AM in reply to: PatrickByrne

One question, which is utility of Bolt Standard in Catalogs? In the Spec Editor: Catalogs->Edit Bolts Length Maping...

 Each catalog have diferent standard.

-----------------------------------------------------------
Yury Bogdanov
ASIDEK(Grupo CT) - Partner Directo de Autodesk
Barcelona (Spain)
Mentor
PatrickByrne
Posts: 165
Registered: ‎10-06-2010
Message 4 of 7 (1,717 Views)

Re: Bolt Lengths and @@@

11-26-2012 01:00 PM in reply to: lopezjo

Thank you Jorge, I am currently using Plant 3D 2012, but hopefully moving to Plant 3D 2013 soon. I see in 2013 there is a lot more to the bolts and it appears to be more intelligent. This is something to look at later.

Contributor
MSpadaro
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 5 of 7 (1,640 Views)

Re: Bolt Lengths and @@@

12-05-2012 04:11 AM in reply to: PatrickByrne

hi, the BOLT STANDARD LENGHT shlould take the available lenght form the EDIT BOLT LENGHT MAPPING function inside the catalog. But it doesn't. If i define a new BOLT MAPPING STANDARD call DIN931 and inserting the same valure (DIN931) in the BOLTCOMPATIBLESTD field of the bolt component it should take the value entered. Let's speak about M16 --> lenght 86: the result is that the system take anywasy 85 as calculated according to what you have explained. Where is really defined the STANDARD BOLT AVAILABLE LENGHT? thanks

 

Member
k.schachinger
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-14-2011
Message 6 of 7 (1,151 Views)

Re: Bolt Lengths and @@@

05-22-2013 07:23 AM in reply to: PatrickByrne

Thanks a lot Jorge!

 

This helps me very much. I was been told that the calculation works in a completly different way and therefore i didn't understood why the calculation is alway wrong.

 

But I think such informations should be available in the online-help. This would avoid many problems beforehand!

 

And it's true. The Bolt compactible standard mapping is just not working. Please FIX IT!

 

Best regards

 

Klaus from Salzburg/Austria

Active Contributor
h.eger
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎05-27-2010
Message 7 of 7 (953 Views)

Re: Bolt Lengths and @@@

09-04-2013 03:30 AM in reply to: k.schachinger

Hallo Klaus,

 

kannst du dich mal mit mir in Verbindung setzen.

cad@ae-eger.de

 

mfg

Hartmut

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Plant 3D Category!

The AutoCAD Plant 3D forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.