AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

Reply
Active Contributor
PLANToftheAPES
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎09-08-2011
Message 1 of 7 (607 Views)

Bends in Plant 3D

607 Views, 6 Replies
09-08-2011 01:41 PM

How can I get bends in Plant 3D that have a fixed straight length of 3" on both sides regardless of the bend angle?

Valued Mentor
Rich.O.3d
Posts: 526
Registered: ‎08-19-2008
Message 2 of 7 (605 Views)

Re: Bends in Plant 3D

09-08-2011 03:18 PM in reply to: PLANToftheAPES

I think creating a catalogue bend using the 'pulled bend option'  should do what you need

CAD Management 101:
You can do it your own way,
If its done just how I say!
[Metallica:And Justice For All:1988]
Active Contributor
PLANToftheAPES
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎09-08-2011
Message 3 of 7 (601 Views)

Re: Bends in Plant 3D

09-08-2011 03:35 PM in reply to: Rich.O.3d

Yes, I am using the catalog bends, however I can specify a fixed center to end length which varies the straight length with the angle of the bend. I want to maintain a fixed straight length regardless of the bend angle. How do you do this?

Employee
TomislavGolubovic
Posts: 553
Registered: ‎12-01-2010
Message 4 of 7 (576 Views)

Re: Bends in Plant 3D

09-12-2011 09:24 PM in reply to: PLANToftheAPES

look for the pulled bend, this gives you the option to set the straight length.



Tomislav Golubovic
Plant Solutions Engineer
Autodesk Australia / New Zealand
Autodesk, Inc.

Mentor
TRdesigner82
Posts: 188
Registered: ‎08-16-2012
Message 5 of 7 (370 Views)

Re: Bends in Plant 3D

06-19-2013 12:06 PM in reply to: TomislavGolubovic

I know this is an old post but I'm having trouble doing the same thing. I've set up a pulled bend and when I toggle on the cutback elbows, the end lengths still don't stay constant. Has anyone been able to get this to work while maintaining a fixed length straight section on both ends?

Mentor
TRdesigner82
Posts: 188
Registered: ‎08-16-2012
Message 6 of 7 (368 Views)

Re: Bends in Plant 3D

06-19-2013 12:08 PM in reply to: TRdesigner82

Both bends in the attachment on the previous post are the same pulled bend and as you can see, the length of the straight sections is not maintained.

Valued Mentor
attila_vallyon
Posts: 260
Registered: ‎11-03-2009
Message 7 of 7 (354 Views)

Re: Bends in Plant 3D

06-19-2013 11:41 PM in reply to: PLANToftheAPES

 

If you want to use "Toggle pipe bend" option you can check here:

Here you can se the default bend radius and the default straight length.

 

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-Plant-3D/Default-pipe-bend-radius/m-p/3906721/highlight/true#M...

Regards,
Attila Vallyon
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Plant 3D Category!

The AutoCAD Plant 3D forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.