AutoCAD Plant 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s AutoCAD Plant 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Plant 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Basics of Plant 3D

4 REPLIES 4
SOLVED
Message 1 of 5
MarcoDaniel
695 Views, 4 Replies

Basics of Plant 3D

Hello everybody!

I'm a software developer and i don't know anything about Plant3D, but i have a project and i need to conect with plant3D!!

I would be appreciated if anyone could explain to me the next doubts:

How are the files organised in Plant3D? Is there a root file and dependencies of this root when you do a project?

As far as I know plant3D only works with *.dwg files, but do the files connect with each other?

And what is the difference between sheets and projects? are they connected somehow?

The main question is, is there any root file and dependencies when you do a project with Plant3D?

This questions might be strange for a plant 3D developer, but i realy need help on this..Thanks

Tags (1)
4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
PeterQuinn
in reply to: MarcoDaniel

Hi,

Even though these are meant for users and not developers, you might start with the Getting Started videos on Plant Exchange: http://autocad.autodesk.com/?nd=plant_tips_tutorials

Peter Quinn
Senior Product Manager
Autodesk, Inc.

Message 3 of 5
MarcoDaniel
in reply to: PeterQuinn

Thank you, it helped me to understand the basics.

Regards

Message 4 of 5
dave.wolfe
in reply to: MarcoDaniel

Go to here: http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/index?siteID=123112&id=15460551

and download the sdk's.  They show how to get a current project's information.