AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

Reply
Valued Mentor
attila_vallyon
Posts: 257
Registered: ‎11-03-2009
Message 1 of 5 (316 Views)

Add more size to the pipe spec part list

316 Views, 4 Replies
03-18-2012 07:49 AM

Hello!

How can I add more sizes to the part list of a pipe spec in the spec editor. If I have a part group in the catalog and later I add more sizes to that group the only way not making duplicate groups to remove the previous group from the spec. And then I add the extended part group to the spec afterward. But this cause one problem: the part built already in the model will not update since I deleted that from the spec.

Is there a way to extend the part list without removing that form the spec?

Thank you in advance!

Regards,
Attila Vallyon
Valued Mentor
ybogdanov
Posts: 385
Registered: ‎07-07-2011
Message 2 of 5 (301 Views)

Re: Add more size to the pipe spec part list

03-19-2012 02:51 AM in reply to: attila_vallyon

1. Open your spec in spec editor

2. Doble click to the pipe where you want to add more sizes

3. It will be opened the new window with the table of sizes, demark the function "Hide parts marked Remove From Spec"

4. Now is posible to desmark new sizes in the column "Remove From Spec"

 

-----------------------------------------------------------
Yury Bogdanov
ASIDEK(Grupo CT) - Partner Directo de Autodesk
Barcelona (Spain)
Valued Mentor
attila_vallyon
Posts: 257
Registered: ‎11-03-2009
Message 3 of 5 (299 Views)

Re: Add more size to the pipe spec part list

03-19-2012 03:24 AM in reply to: ybogdanov

Thanks for the reply. My problem is the new size was not part of the database. I created new size in the catalog with the add size button.

Regards,
Attila Vallyon
Valued Mentor
ybogdanov
Posts: 385
Registered: ‎07-07-2011
Message 4 of 5 (297 Views)

Re: Add more size to the pipe spec part list

03-19-2012 03:45 AM in reply to: attila_vallyon

I know. It's not problem. When you go to create new size, and save the catalog. This new size it will be appear in the hide spec column. And you can activated it to use in the spec.

-----------------------------------------------------------
Yury Bogdanov
ASIDEK(Grupo CT) - Partner Directo de Autodesk
Barcelona (Spain)
Valued Mentor
JohnHolder
Posts: 470
Registered: ‎04-08-2010
Message 5 of 5 (287 Views)

Re: Add more size to the pipe spec part list

03-19-2012 10:37 AM in reply to: attila_vallyon

if the new size is not in the cataloge, if it is not showing up, you may have to model it or use parametric modeling to creat it?

 

I can't help with parametric since i have never been able to get that to work properly, but I have made 3 specs from scratch with my own models.

An education isn't how much you have committed to memory, or even how much you know. It's being able to differentiate between what you know and what you don't.
-------------------------------------
"Do or do not... there is no try"
Master Yoda.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Plant 3D Category!

The AutoCAD Plant 3D forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.