AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

Reply
Mentor
MKH-VB
Posts: 250
Registered: ‎06-28-2010
Message 1 of 7 (1,188 Views)

3d plant vs revit?

1188 Views, 6 Replies
04-03-2012 02:57 PM

Can someone give me a quick rundown on the difference? There may not be a quick way of doing it, but not sure where to start with working in 3d.  Any help will be greatly appreciated. Thanks

 

mkh
*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,592
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 2 of 7 (1,186 Views)

Re: 3d plant vs revit?

04-03-2012 03:48 PM in reply to: MKH-VB

Very quick version: AP3D is the piping, Revit is the building.  Vastly different programs due to the differences in industry e.g. piping is very hard science/engineering oriented where pretty comes second (or later) to other considerations; buildings are prettier but there's a lot of fidgety details needed to handle that.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


Mentor
MKH-VB
Posts: 250
Registered: ‎06-28-2010
Message 3 of 7 (1,165 Views)

Re: 3d plant vs revit?

04-04-2012 06:36 AM in reply to: dgorsman

so if I am doing structural and mechanical on a project, would I use both programs?  Are they interactive to where I can make the bldg in revit and then move it to Plant to finish the piping? Still confused on how they might work together. Thanks

mkh
*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,592
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 4 of 7 (1,159 Views)

Re: 3d plant vs revit?

04-04-2012 09:27 AM in reply to: MKH-VB

Its not unusual for different departments to be using different programs based on their own needs.  For example, we've had projects with piping in CADWorx, structural in ProSteel, grade from Civil3D, and vendor equipment models from CATIA.  This is where Navisworks comes in - it allows all sorts of 3D models to be loaded together in context for coordination.

 

The real problems come from trying to generate ortho drawings.  You can't reference Revit Structural models directly into other program (not currently AFAIK, but that may change in the future).  For generating ortho drawings you need to get the structural model exported to a useable format but then any last minute changes might be missed so proper coordination is essential.  Other programs such as ProSteel which work directly inside DWG can make use of object enablers which makes things a little easier but still requires some forethought.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


Valued Mentor
Rich.O.3d
Posts: 526
Registered: ‎08-19-2008
Message 5 of 7 (1,146 Views)

Re: 3d plant vs revit?

04-04-2012 06:13 PM in reply to: MKH-VB

I believe current thinking:

 

Create preliminary structure in plant3d, run preliminary piping in plant3d.

Export plant3d structure as sdnf file.

Import sdnf into revit (may need to map member sizes).

Send from revit to robot for nodal struc engineer review and mofification.

Bring modified skeleton back into revit (revit updates model with robot changes)

Link Revit structure file into ASD for adding end connections / special details etc.

replace plant3d structure with ASD file (either as basic stick or with full detail depending on project size/requirments)

Rework piping to suit actual structure adding supports and extra structural steel to support the supports, this extra structure can then be sent back the structural team for adding to the live model.

clash detect with Navis

run ISO's, review, Issue for construction.

CAD Management 101:
You can do it your own way,
If its done just how I say!
[Metallica:And Justice For All:1988]
Mentor
MKH-VB
Posts: 250
Registered: ‎06-28-2010
Message 6 of 7 (1,133 Views)

Re: 3d plant vs revit?

04-05-2012 07:56 AM in reply to: Rich.O.3d

wow....that sounds a bit more difficult that developing a few plans/sections!  Is it really more efficient?

mkh
*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,592
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 7 of 7 (1,126 Views)

Re: 3d plant vs revit?

04-05-2012 11:33 AM in reply to: MKH-VB

Tools such as Revit are optimized for their given audience - not so good at piping (try generating piping iso's) but extremely good at building design.  Your structural designers will probably cry if they have to use a piping design tool to do building design work (keep those tears handy - they help ward off evil account execs :smileyvery-happy: ).  The trade-off is in the additional coordination required.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Plant 3D Category!

The AutoCAD Plant 3D forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!