AutoCAD P&ID General Discussion

AutoCAD P&ID General Discussion

Reply
Mentor
craig.wood
Posts: 231
Registered: ‎02-20-2012
Message 1 of 11 (775 Views)
Accepted Solution

"Blank" Option Instead of the "Dot" in Selection Lists

775 Views, 10 Replies
05-08-2012 04:36 PM

I understand that there is another thread mentioning this subject, but I really think that in order for AutoCAD P&ID to be more robust, it needs to be re-addressed. This may be a wish-list item, but for me, this is more of a hotfix-scale item.

I as well as many other users would love to have the option to have a "blank" value in both annotations and selection lists to substitute for the "dot" or period that appears when a value is null. Entering a space to hide the period isn't so bad in some cases, but for cases like the one below, it becomes a huge ordeal.

 

My Situation:

I have created an instrument bubble that has 4 seperate selection lists (one for each corner (function) of the bubble). Most of the time, these values will be null, so for me to have to enter a space character for each of the fields becomes a real pain on a drawing that contains dozens of instruments. The project we are using AutoCAD P&ID for will have several hundred drawings - all of them will have anywhere from a dozen to 3 dozen instrument bubbles on each drawing.

 

Our only way to deal with this is to export our entire project list of instruments to an excel file, filter by the blank values and populate them with a space character, and then import the file back into AutoCAD P&ID.

 

A simple fix would be to allow a space character as one of the options in a selection list.

 

If any other users would like to have this option, please comment in order to help get this moving along.

 

Thanks for hearing me out in advance :smileyhappy:

Craig

 

*Notice the periods in the instrument's corners as it is newly-placed in a drawing*

Please see this screen recording for more info:

 

Null characters in annotations

 

It looks like a workaround might be possible, but it requires using non-AutoCAD, TrueType fonts in annotations.

 

Thank you,

Product Support
jason.drew
Posts: 324
Registered: ‎06-17-2010
Message 2 of 11 (723 Views)

Re: "Blank" Option Instead of the "Dot" in Selection Lists

05-18-2012 01:58 PM in reply to: craig.wood

Please try this:

 

In your selection list, add a new value and type in ALT+0160 (unicode character, not a space so you have to hold down the ALT key and type in '0160') Then set the description to something like 'NULL' or 'TEST'

 

Once that is saved, go to the properties and set the second item on the list as the default value for your selection list. That will leave a "null" value in your instrument functions by default and will not display the dot on the drawing when it's initially placed.

 

Selection_List.png

 



Jason Drew
Premium Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.





If my post answers your question, please click the "Accept as Solution" button. This helps everyone find answers more quickly.
Mentor
craig.wood
Posts: 231
Registered: ‎02-20-2012
Message 3 of 11 (720 Views)

Re: "Blank" Option Instead of the "Dot" in Selection Lists

05-18-2012 02:04 PM in reply to: jason.drew

I saw that procedure mentioned in the previous thread, and tried it, but continued to get the same result as if I had entered a "space" character.

 

The following error message appears:

 

 

I'm using 2013...

 

Any ideas?

 

Thanks,

Craig

Product Support
jason.drew
Posts: 324
Registered: ‎06-17-2010
Message 4 of 11 (718 Views)

Re: "Blank" Option Instead of the "Dot" in Selection Lists

05-18-2012 02:14 PM in reply to: craig.wood

Interesting, it worked for me the first time around. Now that I have gone back to double check I cannot add the unicode character again. :smileyfrustrated:

 

Let me do some additional testing and I will let you know what I find.



Jason Drew
Premium Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.





If my post answers your question, please click the "Accept as Solution" button. This helps everyone find answers more quickly.
Mentor
craig.wood
Posts: 231
Registered: ‎02-20-2012
Message 5 of 11 (716 Views)

Re: "Blank" Option Instead of the "Dot" in Selection Lists

05-18-2012 02:17 PM in reply to: jason.drew

That is interesting...

 

Thanks for looking into this for me, I really appreciate it! :smileyhappy:

 

Craig

Product Support
jason.drew
Posts: 324
Registered: ‎06-17-2010
Message 6 of 11 (715 Views)

Re: "Blank" Option Instead of the "Dot" in Selection Lists

05-18-2012 02:42 PM in reply to: craig.wood

Please see this screen recording for more info:

 

Null characters in annotations

 

It looks like a workaround might be possible, but it requires using non-AutoCAD, TrueType fonts in annotations.

 

Thank you,



Jason Drew
Premium Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.





If my post answers your question, please click the "Accept as Solution" button. This helps everyone find answers more quickly.
Mentor
craig.wood
Posts: 231
Registered: ‎02-20-2012
Message 7 of 11 (705 Views)

Re: "Blank" Option Instead of the "Dot" in Selection Lists

05-18-2012 03:11 PM in reply to: jason.drew

Jason Drew - you are my hero...

 

This is huge! You just saved me a lot of time...and money on aspirin :smileyhappy:

 

Thanks!

Craig

Mentor
craig.wood
Posts: 231
Registered: ‎02-20-2012
Message 8 of 11 (340 Views)

Re: "Blank" Option Instead of the "Dot" in Selection Lists

02-12-2014 05:57 PM in reply to: jason.drew

Jason,

 

I just wanted to follow up to let you know that I found a character even better than the Unicode Unit Separator to hide the periods from blank properties. The problem with the Unit Separator is that a rectangular unicode glyph would still plot on our pdfs. I just discovered that using U+200B instead of the Unit Separator will cause the property to be null both in the program AND on pdfs because it inherently does not have a graphical glyph representation, at least for true type fonts.

 

Here is a link with more info on this character and how someone can easily get access to it:

http://superuser.com/questions/389087/how-to-type-zero-width-space-character-u200b-on-a-laptop-keybo...

 

Just thought I'd pass along for future reference in case you run into this again.

 

Thanks,

Craig

Product Support
jason.drew
Posts: 324
Registered: ‎06-17-2010
Message 9 of 11 (325 Views)

Re: "Blank" Option Instead of the "Dot" in Selection Lists

02-13-2014 06:57 AM in reply to: craig.wood

Hi Craig,

 

Thanks for sharing this!



Jason Drew
Premium Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.





If my post answers your question, please click the "Accept as Solution" button. This helps everyone find answers more quickly.
Contributor
jhamilton
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎01-23-2013
Message 10 of 11 (74 Views)

Re: "Blank" Option Instead of the "Dot" in Selection Lists

08-07-2014 12:24 PM in reply to: craig.wood

This all seemed to work great.  Problem is that it now prints out a vertical bar for any component that has a unicode character in it.  The bar prints out a couple of inches to one side of the component.  Oddly enough, it does not show on the screen, or on a PDF or DWF, but does print out in hard copies.  Must have to do with using the true type fonts.  I have tried changing the print settings on the printer for true type fonts to be both text or graphics and you get different results, in the location of the vertical bar, but it still prints out the vertical bar either way.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD P&ID Category!

The AutoCAD P&ID forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.