AutoCAD P&ID General Discussion

AutoCAD P&ID General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
cbeaty
Posts: 112
Registered: ‎04-21-2006
Message 1 of 8 (613 Views)
Accepted Solution

Problem creating new project from previous project

613 Views, 7 Replies
08-24-2011 12:40 PM

ACAD PID 2011 SP-1

I am attempting to create an ACAD PID standard project settings template with client specific blocks starting from the default template.

I did a considerable amount of customization to a project's settings and now PID is not capable of creating a new project using this customized "project.xml" as a basis.

 

I've sense began taking baby steps at creating the standard template in an attempt to figure out what is causing it to break.

 

It seems that any modifications to the blocks (through proj manager or directly) stored in the "projSymbolStyle.dwg" causes it to brake.  I've also had it where the project manager wouldn't open for a new project (unhandled exception error).

I've even created a new project from a slightly modified project and then made no changes to the new project file.  I attempt to create a another new project from the latter, unchanged, project and PID is unsuccessful.

 

Is this a common problem or have you had success at this task?

Distinguished Contributor
cbeaty
Posts: 112
Registered: ‎04-21-2006
Message 2 of 8 (609 Views)

Re: Problem creating new project from previous project

08-24-2011 04:00 PM in reply to: cbeaty

One thing I've found is that it seems at least one PID dwg needs to be present in a project before a new project can be created using said project as a template. 

 

Distinguished Contributor
cbeaty
Posts: 112
Registered: ‎04-21-2006
Message 3 of 8 (578 Views)

Re: Problem creating new project from previous project

08-31-2011 01:06 PM in reply to: cbeaty

cbeaty wrote:

One thing I've found is that it seems at least one PID dwg needs to be present in a project before a new project can be created using said project as a template. 

 


Scratch my last comment.  It's inaccurate.

 

My office is set up to use Windows Roaming Profiles and I'm thinking this may be from where my problems arise.  When using an office PC the project file gets broken to where a new project cannot be created from the old project xml.  I regularly switch between using a laptop and desktop which are setup to use roaming profiles. 

 

When working from my personal PC I have no problem creating new projects from a previous project.  I have spent hours modifying a projects settings and was able to successfully create a new project from the heavily modified project.  When using my office PC's this is not possible.

 

Are you able to successfully create new projects from an older project xml while in a network using roaming profiles?

Product Support
Dan.Scales
Posts: 298
Registered: ‎03-05-2010
Message 4 of 8 (572 Views)

Re: Problem creating new project from previous project

09-01-2011 02:01 AM in reply to: cbeaty

Hi,

 

Please install this Hotfix and re-test:

 

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=16406590&linkID=11705366

 

Extract from the Hotfix readme:

 

Creating a project based on another project - Corrected a problem that prevented the creation of a new project based on an existing project.

Thanks,



Dan Scales
Distinguished Contributor
cbeaty
Posts: 112
Registered: ‎04-21-2006
Message 5 of 8 (553 Views)

Re: Problem creating new project from previous project

09-02-2011 05:00 PM in reply to: Dan.Scales

Evidently I overlooked that fix.  SP's and Hotfix's are the first things I look for when I encounter software problems.

 

Seems to have solved my problem.

 

Thanks

Valued Contributor
Heckmeck
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎10-10-2011
Message 6 of 8 (359 Views)

Re: Problem creating new project from previous project

10-27-2011 02:47 AM in reply to: cbeaty

Hi Everyone.

 

I'm expieriencing the same problem. After I installed SP1 and the Hotfix, I still cannot create a new project based on a template.

I checked the file version....it seems okay.

 

What else can I do?

 

Thanks in advance!

Product Support
jason.drew
Posts: 322
Registered: ‎06-17-2010
Message 7 of 8 (319 Views)

Re: Problem creating new project from previous project

11-05-2011 02:45 PM in reply to: Heckmeck
Hi E.Kuehn,

Maybe we can track down the cause of the issue. What version/release of AutoCAD P&ID are you running?

 

 

Thank you,



Jason Drew
Premium Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.





If my post answers your question, please click the "Accept as Solution" button. This helps everyone find answers more quickly.
Valued Contributor
Heckmeck
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎10-10-2011
Message 8 of 8 (309 Views)

Re: Problem creating new project from previous project

11-06-2011 10:33 PM in reply to: cbeaty

I do have Acad PID 2011.

I also installed SP1 and the hotfix....unfortunately nothing changed.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD P&ID Category!

The AutoCAD P&ID forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.