AutoCAD P&ID General Discussion

AutoCAD P&ID General Discussion

Reply
Mentor
gschimmi
Posts: 150
Registered: ‎01-31-2012
Message 1 of 10 (761 Views)
Accepted Solution

How to sort in the report creator

761 Views, 9 Replies
10-24-2012 10:29 PM

Hello

 

I like to sort a report according to a field: number asc

 

This is what I get

 

1

10

11

2

3

4

 

How can I change this? I can't find a function like val(number) or format the numbers to 01, 02...

 

Thanks for any help

 

G

Plant3D 2014 German
WIN7

Hi Guido,

 

I have created a video here: http://screencast.com/t/fLGPRtMu

 

Does this help?

Product Support
gersteb
Posts: 172
Registered: ‎09-20-2010
Message 2 of 10 (733 Views)

Re: How to sort in the report creator

10-26-2012 07:29 AM in reply to: gschimmi

Hi Guido,

 

What for a field do you want to order here? When I look to your list it seems that this field is defined as a string field but not a number field. You can look for the definition of the field in the project configuration. Switch to the Plant 3D class definition of your class and look for the property which you want to use. There is a column called 'property type'. Look for the value of this column.

 

Best regards

Bernd



Bernd Gerstenberger
Mentor
gschimmi
Posts: 150
Registered: ‎01-31-2012
Message 3 of 10 (698 Views)

Re: How to sort in the report creator

10-29-2012 05:10 AM in reply to: gersteb

Hello Bernd

 

I like to order the field 'Number' from the class valves in the PID properties.

 

It is formatted as 'char' and I can't change this. So I look for an function or something that changes the field into a value in the report creator....

 

 

Best regards

Plant3D 2014 German
WIN7
Product Support
gersteb
Posts: 172
Registered: ‎09-20-2010
Message 4 of 10 (693 Views)

Re: How to sort in the report creator

10-29-2012 07:58 AM in reply to: gschimmi

Hi Guido,

 

Do the following:

  • Make a backup of your processpower.dcf of your project (a copy is enough).
  • Open the processpower.dcf with SQLite Database Browser. If you still haven't installed it, you can download it from several sites and use it for free.
  • Switch to the tab 'Browse Data'.
  • Select in the combo box the table 'PnPProperties'
  • Search for a row with TableName = HandVentiles  and PropertyName = Number
  • Change for this row the values of those columns:
  • PropertyType: By default: System.String, now: System.Int64
  • Length: By default: 255, now: -1
  • Save the processpower.dcf

Now re-open your project in the report creator and you are able to sort the column 'Number' 'correctly'. I have attached a result of my test: Number is sorted now with 1, 2, 10 instead of 1, 10, 2.

 

Please, mark this case as solved if I could help you but don't hesitate to ask for further information here.

 

Regards

Bernd



Bernd Gerstenberger
Valued Contributor
Heckmeck
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎10-10-2011
Message 5 of 10 (673 Views)

Re: How to sort in the report creator

10-31-2012 01:31 AM in reply to: gersteb

Hi Bernd,

 

recently I had the problem of not being able to change the data type of my attributes.

Could you please post, how to change the value to other data types? (eg. boolean, string, etc..)

 

I am sure, this would be helpfull for a lot of users.

 

 

Product Support
gersteb
Posts: 172
Registered: ‎09-20-2010
Message 6 of 10 (665 Views)

Re: How to sort in the report creator

10-31-2012 06:32 AM in reply to: Heckmeck

Hi Guido,

 

I have created a video here: http://screencast.com/t/fLGPRtMu

 

Does this help?



Bernd Gerstenberger
Mentor
gschimmi
Posts: 150
Registered: ‎01-31-2012
Message 7 of 10 (650 Views)

Re: How to sort in the report creator

11-01-2012 12:45 AM in reply to: gersteb

Hi Bernd

 

that works fine

 

Thank you

 

 

G

Plant3D 2014 German
WIN7
Mentor
gschimmi
Posts: 150
Registered: ‎01-31-2012
Message 8 of 10 (613 Views)

Re: How to sort in the report creator

11-06-2012 02:33 AM in reply to: gersteb

Hi Bernd

 

today I've tried to generate the report again. But all I get is the error message in the attachm.

 

When I look with sqlite database browser into the processpower, so there is 'number' declared as int64, like I've changed it some days ago. But in the project properties there is 'number' declared as string.

 

Something is wrong?!

 

Best regards

Plant3D 2014 German
WIN7
Mentor
gschimmi
Posts: 150
Registered: ‎01-31-2012
Message 9 of 10 (606 Views)

Re: How to sort in the report creator

11-06-2012 04:40 AM in reply to: gschimmi

Hi

 

the reports work now after clearing PLDC

 

the different declaration is kept

 

 

G

Plant3D 2014 German
WIN7
Product Support
gersteb
Posts: 172
Registered: ‎09-20-2010
Message 10 of 10 (599 Views)

Re: How to sort in the report creator

11-06-2012 07:40 AM in reply to: gschimmi

:smileyhappy:



Bernd Gerstenberger
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD P&ID Category!

The AutoCAD P&ID forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.