AutoCAD P&ID General Discussion

AutoCAD P&ID General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
dustyray
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎02-14-2011
Message 1 of 4 (1,077 Views)
Accepted Solution

FIELD DISCRETE INSTRUMENT AND PRIMARY DCS CAN NOT HAVE SAME TAG?

1077 Views, 3 Replies
01-17-2013 07:23 AM

My EE wants to show a field mounted hand switch, HS-900, and a DCS mounted hand switch, HS-900.

P3D P&ID error says "No two components of a class in a drawing can have the same tag. Please enter a unique tag."

If one component is field discrete mounted, and the other is DCS, they are not the same class.

 

How to get the same tag on both instruments?

 

Also, are any white papers available on working with instrumentation?

 

Thanks,

Dusty

Thanks, it will help. Hpoefully my EE will understand. Are we the only ones with this error?

 

Thanks,

Dusty

I'm guessing this is a problem that everyone has with P&ID.

 

We explored other options as a solution, including adding a property in the project setup property manager as a replacement property for the "Number" --> "Tag" property.  This proved to be too cumbersome and too time consuming to go back and change all the old projects and the multiple projects currently being worked on.

 

 The "TAG" property is a system property that can only have a single instance within the project, and as a default is constructed in instrumentation as AREA-TYPE-NUMBER or AREA-TYPE-LOOPNUMBER or whatever it is.  So if you specify something different for the tag construction such as TYPE-PnPID, create a new property that is not associated with the tag, but you've edited the instrumentation blocks to read this value instead of the loop number, it might work.  And the tag would be unique as PnPID is a unique value.

 

But that last mentioned method is just way too much work with all the block editing and such.  And doing that on multiple projects would be even a bigger pain.  And it might cause havoc in other places.

Valued Contributor
georgeendrulat
Posts: 79
Registered: ‎10-31-2011
Message 2 of 4 (1,074 Views)

Re: FIELD DISCRETE INSTRUMENT AND PRIMARY DCS CAN NOT HAVE SAME TAG?

01-17-2013 08:00 AM in reply to: dustyray

That's something we deal with as well.  The horrible solution we use:

 

have one read lets say: 2175

and have the other read: 2175.

 

notice the "." (period) at the end of the second one.

 

It's a half-**** solution, but it's what we use.  We haven't found another way either.

Active Member
dustyray
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎02-14-2011
Message 3 of 4 (1,069 Views)

Re: FIELD DISCRETE INSTRUMENT AND PRIMARY DCS CAN NOT HAVE SAME TAG?

01-17-2013 09:49 AM in reply to: georgeendrulat

Thanks, it will help. Hpoefully my EE will understand. Are we the only ones with this error?

 

Thanks,

Dusty

Valued Contributor
georgeendrulat
Posts: 79
Registered: ‎10-31-2011
Message 4 of 4 (1,065 Views)

Re: FIELD DISCRETE INSTRUMENT AND PRIMARY DCS CAN NOT HAVE SAME TAG?

01-17-2013 10:03 AM in reply to: dustyray

I'm guessing this is a problem that everyone has with P&ID.

 

We explored other options as a solution, including adding a property in the project setup property manager as a replacement property for the "Number" --> "Tag" property.  This proved to be too cumbersome and too time consuming to go back and change all the old projects and the multiple projects currently being worked on.

 

 The "TAG" property is a system property that can only have a single instance within the project, and as a default is constructed in instrumentation as AREA-TYPE-NUMBER or AREA-TYPE-LOOPNUMBER or whatever it is.  So if you specify something different for the tag construction such as TYPE-PnPID, create a new property that is not associated with the tag, but you've edited the instrumentation blocks to read this value instead of the loop number, it might work.  And the tag would be unique as PnPID is a unique value.

 

But that last mentioned method is just way too much work with all the block editing and such.  And doing that on multiple projects would be even a bigger pain.  And it might cause havoc in other places.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD P&ID Category!

The AutoCAD P&ID forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.