AutoCAD P&ID General Discussion

AutoCAD P&ID General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
Heckmeck
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎10-10-2011
Message 1 of 4 (493 Views)
Accepted Solution

Exclude Objects from Database

493 Views, 3 Replies
08-10-2012 03:46 AM

Hi Everyone,

 

I have a drawing with several symbols that serve as a caption.

For example in the upper right corner of the drawing, I show some special symbols with a description of them or some line types with their respective explanation.

 

Unfortunately, these symbols appear in the datamanger, since I added them via die tool palette and they are PID symbols.

 

I tried to add the caption to the *.dwt (drawing template), but you cannot add pid symbols there. (I produce a crash everythime I try...)

 

Is there an easy work around, to not show certain objects in the datamanager?

In a way, I would like to make some objects "stupid"

 

Best regards!

Explode them.  

*Expert Elite*
dave.wolfe
Posts: 731
Registered: ‎12-04-2009
Message 2 of 4 (480 Views)

Re: Exclude Objects from Database

08-10-2012 03:41 PM in reply to: Heckmeck

Explode them.  

Dave Wolfe
Isaiah 57:15

ECAD, Inc.
Tips and Tricks on our blog: Process Design, from the Outside

A P3D Authorized Reseller
Plant 3d Wish list: https://plant3d.uservoice.com/
Valued Contributor
Heckmeck
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎10-10-2011
Message 3 of 4 (459 Views)

Re: Exclude Objects from Database

08-12-2012 10:38 PM in reply to: Heckmeck

Thanks for the trick! Sometimes it can be so easy!

 

For those you read this: I had to type "._explode" in order to make the explode command work...else I got "unknown command"

 

Exploding blocks works great here, but I can't explode my pipes (mostly multilines/slines).

 

I tried with "pedit" but that doesn't work since mine are Slines.

I also tried with "flatten", but my colors will be lost if I use this command.

 

Do you have the trick for this one, too?

 

Thanks!

*Expert Elite*
Rave.Tam
Posts: 204
Registered: ‎05-19-2011
Message 4 of 4 (454 Views)

Re: Exclude Objects from Database

08-12-2012 11:31 PM in reply to: Heckmeck

blocking those objects (sline as well) will also exclude them from the data manager. But u'll have problem editing the block later because editing P&ID objects in block editor is not supported.

If my post answers your question, please click the "Accept as Solution" button.

Check out my blog http://lazcad.com
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD P&ID Category!

The AutoCAD P&ID forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.