AutoCAD P&ID General Discussion

AutoCAD P&ID General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
EZTCADSYS
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎11-29-2007
Message 1 of 6 (231 Views)

data bases and Autocad P&ID

231 Views, 5 Replies
12-27-2007 06:23 AM
Is Autocad P&ID linked to any kind of data base?
*Jorge Lopez
Message 2 of 6 (231 Views)

Re: data bases and Autocad P&ID

01-02-2008 12:46 PM in reply to: EZTCADSYS
What are you trying to do? The short answer to your question is yes, but I
will leave it at that until you can provide more information.

Jorge

"EZTCADSYS" wrote in message news:5808400@discussion.autodesk.com...
Is Autocad P&ID linked to any kind of data base?
Contributor
EZTCADSYS
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎11-29-2007
Message 3 of 6 (231 Views)

Re: data bases and Autocad P&ID

01-02-2008 12:59 PM in reply to: EZTCADSYS
I am not trying to do anything, this was a question from another person and I couldn't come out with a good answer.
I personally believe that it had a built in database and that it was created to work with any other database according to the clients needs. again I needed another opinion that is the reason why I asked you
Thanks
*Jorge Lopez
Message 4 of 6 (231 Views)

Re: data bases and Autocad P&ID

01-03-2008 10:23 AM in reply to: EZTCADSYS
There is a database that links drawing elements to non-graphical properties
(visible in the Data Manager). The database also stores relationships
between objects. However, the database should not be used directly and is an
implementation detail of the software. We provide APIs that are used to
access / modify the data no matter what back-end database technology is
used. The software is configurable to use other databases but not via the
UI.

Hope this helps provide a better answer.

Jorge

"EZTCADSYS" wrote in message news:5810910@discussion.autodesk.com...
I am not trying to do anything, this was a question from another person and
I couldn't come out with a good answer.
I personally believe that it had a built in database and that it was created
to work with any other database according to the clients needs. again I
needed another opinion that is the reason why I asked you
Thanks
Contributor
EZTCADSYS
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎11-29-2007
Message 5 of 6 (231 Views)

Re: data bases and Autocad P&ID

01-03-2008 11:04 AM in reply to: EZTCADSYS
yes, it did and I thank you for the quick response
Contributor
EZTCADSYS
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎11-29-2007
Message 6 of 6 (231 Views)

Re: data bases and Autocad P&ID

01-03-2008 02:33 PM in reply to: EZTCADSYS
I have entered the serial number to try to install the license for the two floating seats on our server.
Also, just so we're clear, all this was done from the Network License Activation Utility installed from the Tools and Utilities on the ACAD P&ID 2008 installation disk. I have installed all of the tools and utilities...Network License Manager, Network License Activation Utility, Autodesk CAD Manager Tools 4.0, and SAMreport-Lite. Autocad P&ID 2008, itself, was not installed on the server as I was following the instructions per the documentation.
the error message I get it looks like the following
the serial number you entered is not valid for the product you are trying to activate. try again (error 123)
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD P&ID Category!

The AutoCAD P&ID forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.