AutoCAD P&ID General Discussion

AutoCAD P&ID General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
mcost
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎08-24-2011
Message 1 of 29 (2,936 Views)

Control Valve Issues

2936 Views, 28 Replies
10-04-2011 08:01 AM

I am having a bunch of little issues with the control valves (which I'm sure can be attributed to user inexperience).

Your help will certainly be appreciated!

 

(1) Substitution Palette

When I add a control valve, I can substitute the actuators and valves just fine, at first. However, at some point, something happens and the substitution palettes change for both the body and actuator. Where I could see replacement bodies/actuators before, now both palettes only have inline instruments (nozzles, etc). I do not know how to make it show me the actual body/actuator palettes again. I believe (not 100% sure) this switch occurs when I alter and save something in the project’s properties (even if the change is made on unrelated equipment/instruments).

 

(2) Layer Properties

I would like to put the control valve in a different layer from its annotations. My goal is to have the ability to easily print a simplified diagram without all the control information. For example, I set the properties to insert the valve (body and actuator) in 'Layer1' and annotations (discrete instrument and primary PLC symbols) in 'Layer2'. When I insert them from the palette, both the valve and the annotations default to 'Layer1'. I can manually move the annotations to ‘Layer 2’, but whenever I open-save-close the properties manager, the annotations move back to the valve layer ('Layer1').  Why? What can I do differently?

On another, somewhat related note, the layer I really want to add the valve to does not appear on the dropdown in the properties section to set the defaults. How can I add my custom layer to this default list?

 

(3) Default Valve Body

In the “Control Valve Browser”, I only get a short list of hand valves that I can select as the default, and this list does not include the one I am looking for (ball valve). I have a ball valve body in my substitution palette, so I can change it that way, but this makes one additional step. How can I make the ball valve appear on the control valve browser?

Product Support
jason.drew
Posts: 322
Registered: ‎06-17-2010
Message 2 of 29 (2,891 Views)

Re: Control Valve Issues

10-11-2011 07:19 AM in reply to: mcost

(1) Substitution Palette

 

I tried to reproduce this issue, but wasn't able to using Plant 3D 2012. Just curious, which release of AutoCAD P&ID are you running?

 

(2) Layer Properties

 

It is possible to configure the layers this way. My recommendation would be to change the default layer for the control valve from "Instrument" over to "Mechanical" or any custom layer you might use for the valves.

 

That way you can freeze the instrument layer to quicky turn off all instrument annotations, but leave the control valves shown.

 

The reason why you're only seeing the default layers on the dropdown list inside the symbol properties has to do with where that list is pulling from. There is a drawing inside the folder of the project called "projSymbolStyle.dwg" which is sort of the master template for the project. It contains all the layers, blocks, linetypes, etc. for the project.

 

To add a custom layer:

 

1. Open the drawing titled projSymbolStyle.dwg from the project folder

2. Go into layer manger and add any additional layers you'd like to use

3. Save projSymbolStyle drawing and close

 

You can use the layer states mananger to save all of the layers in projSymbolStyle.dwg and then import those into the P&ID template drawing for your project. That way when you create a new drawing those new custom layers are already present on the list.

 

(3) Default Valve Body

 

As you've probably noticed the control valves are built up from two symbols. The valve body uses the available list from "Hand Valves" and the actuator comes from "Actuators" under Non Engineering Items.

 

There are few things to check in the properties when you don't see valve on the list. The first one is the "SupportedStandards" bitwise flag. If you select that property and then click the Edit button you'll see a list of standards for P&ID. You can check the boxes to allow the use of that symbol for a particular standard. If the box is cleared for the standard you selected when the project was initially setup then that symbol won't be available to use from the control valve selection list.

 

One other thing to mention on the control valves is the "Substitution" property. This true or false value defines whether or not a symbol is shown or hidden on the substitution palette.

 

 

If you have any questions, please let me know. If this is an acceptable solution, please click the "Accept as Solution" button to help others find this information during a search.

 

Thank you,

 



Jason Drew
Premium Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.





If my post answers your question, please click the "Accept as Solution" button. This helps everyone find answers more quickly.
Active Member
mcost
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎08-24-2011
Message 3 of 29 (2,887 Views)

Re: Control Valve Issues

10-11-2011 08:49 AM in reply to: jason.drew

Hi Jason,

Thanks so much for getting back to me! I attached some screenshots which may help clarify some of this.

 

(1) – Substitution Palette
I am using AutoCAD P&ID 2011, SP1.

 

To document the issue with images (like I probably should have done in my original post), I did the following:

1. I opened a new drawing; no template, imperial units.
2. Added a ball valve.
3. Converted to a control valve.
4. The substitution palettes worked just fine.
5. I opened the project properties. Changed something. Clicked okay.
6. The substitution palettes do not work right
 

(2) Layer Properties
I believe I did do as you suggested, but the valves revert back to the “equipment” layer. My steps…
1. Verified the class settings for the valve / actuator.
2. I inserted the control valve. It inserted in the “equipment” layer, as expected.
3. I added the annotation. It inserted on the “mechanical” layer, which I didn’t expect (setting was as “instrument” layer). But anyway…
4. I open the properties menu. Make an unrelated change.
5. When I go back to my drawing, both are now on the “equipment” layer.

---------------

Thanks for the information about projSymbolStyle.dwg. I will try that!


(3) Default Valve Body

I totally missed the “SupportedStandards”. This solved my issue! Thanks!

Product Support
jason.drew
Posts: 322
Registered: ‎06-17-2010
Message 4 of 29 (2,867 Views)

Re: Control Valve Issues

10-13-2011 02:57 PM in reply to: mcost

Thank you for the document and update on this issue. This will help us with troubleshooting. 

 

I'm going to take a closer look at issue 1 & 2. I will keep you posted on what I find.

 

Thank you,



Jason Drew
Premium Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.





If my post answers your question, please click the "Accept as Solution" button. This helps everyone find answers more quickly.
New Member
kinteki
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-13-2012
Message 5 of 29 (2,684 Views)

Re: Control Valve Issues

02-13-2012 03:50 AM in reply to: mcost

Hi,

 

I was wondering if you have found a solution to question nr 1 as we have the same issue in our project...

 

Regards

 

Henrik

Product Support
jason.drew
Posts: 322
Registered: ‎06-17-2010
Message 6 of 29 (2,667 Views)

Re: Control Valve Issues

02-13-2012 03:06 PM in reply to: kinteki

Henrik,

 

What version of AutoCAD P&ID are you using?

 

Also, is this a new project or was it migrated from a previous version?

 

If you have a sample project you can provide us that is exibiting this behavior that will help us to troubleshoot the problem. 

 

Thank you,



Jason Drew
Premium Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.





If my post answers your question, please click the "Accept as Solution" button. This helps everyone find answers more quickly.
New Member
kinteki
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-13-2012
Message 7 of 29 (2,654 Views)

Re: Control Valve Issues

02-13-2012 11:37 PM in reply to: mcost

Hi again Jason,

 

We are running AutoCAD P&ID  2011 SP1.

This is a new project, but the error also appear on the sample projects provided with the software.

 

As an example, the problem occurs when you add a custom actuator in the project properties and then try to substitute actuator/body.

 

 

Regards

 

Henrik

Member
sbarlage
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-14-2009
Message 8 of 29 (2,598 Views)

Re: Control Valve Issues

02-24-2012 12:27 AM in reply to: mcost

The problem with the control valves stays at 2012 SP 1 (Plant and P&ID)

So this is a big problem.

*Expert Elite*
Rave.Tam
Posts: 204
Registered: ‎05-19-2011
Message 9 of 29 (2,594 Views)

Re: Control Valve Issues

02-24-2012 01:11 AM in reply to: jason.drew

I just did a debug today, the problems is cause by the StyleId.


For example, when i place a control valve (Ball valve and diaphragm actuator), the body StyleId is set to the Ball Valve style id. This is the same for actuator.

 

When reopen the drawing after project properties change, both style change to the ControlValve style. Hence, you will not be able to substitute.

 

If you check the properties for the actuator, the Graphical Style is empty.

 

Autodesk, please fix this asap, i dont want to waste time writing the fix code myself.

If my post answers your question, please click the "Accept as Solution" button.

Check out my blog http://lazcad.com
Product Support
jason.drew
Posts: 322
Registered: ‎06-17-2010
Message 10 of 29 (2,587 Views)

Re: Control Valve Issues

02-24-2012 07:24 AM in reply to: Rave.Tam

This issue is typically caused by an out of date SubstitutionPalettes.xml file.

 

Please try this:

 

1. Open your project folder in Windows Explorer

2. Locate SubstitutionPalettes.xml

3. Rename the file to SubstitutionPalettes.xml.old

4. Open a P&ID drawing and select any symbol in the drawing that has substitution grips

5. There will be a brief pause while the SubstitutionPalettes.xml is rebuilt

 

The substitution palettes should display the correct sybmols now.

 

Thank you,



Jason Drew
Premium Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.





If my post answers your question, please click the "Accept as Solution" button. This helps everyone find answers more quickly.
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD P&ID Category!

The AutoCAD P&ID forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.