AutoCAD P&ID General Discussion

AutoCAD P&ID General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
earnold
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎02-22-2003
Message 1 of 4 (205 Views)

annotation block

205 Views, 3 Replies
05-22-2008 11:42 AM
I have created a new annotation block for a component. Now I want to go back and edit the annotation. In the project properties the "edit block " button is grayed out so I can't edit the block. I have tried going directly to the block within block editor but that won't work because the attribute I want to change has spaces in it. When I try to edit the attribute I get the message that spaces are not allowed. Is there a way to change this annotation?
*Jorge Lopez
Message 2 of 4 (205 Views)

Re: annotation block

05-27-2008 10:53 AM in reply to: earnold
What version of AutoCAD Plant P&ID are you using?

Here is some information regarding the latest version, AutoCAD Plant P&ID
2009 from Lynn (resident tagging expert):


I wonder what version of the product they are using. There was a late Cork
SCO that changed the tag-handling behavior in all cloning situations (of
which wblock/insert/explode is one) such that instead of blanking out tags
and the contributing subparts (old behavior) we retain the contributing
subpart values AND we modify the tag by appending a single question mark.

The exception is that we still blank the subparts and tag for PipeLineGroup.

This should provide what the user is asking for.

Lynn


"bumble63" wrote in message news:5938502@discussion.autodesk.com...
I have created a new annotation block for a component. Now I want to go
back and edit the annotation. In the project properties the "edit block "
button is grayed out so I can't edit the block. I have tried going directly
to the block within block editor but that won't work because the attribute I
want to change has spaces in it. When I try to edit the attribute I get the
message that spaces are not allowed. Is there a way to change this
annotation?
Active Contributor
earnold
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎02-22-2003
Message 3 of 4 (205 Views)

Re: annotation block

05-27-2008 03:58 PM in reply to: earnold
I am using P&ID 2008.
Employee
sivapd
Posts: 133
Registered: ‎08-12-2005
Message 4 of 4 (205 Views)

Re: annotation block

06-15-2008 07:50 PM in reply to: earnold
Most likely the annotation you are trying to edit, is created for its parent class. For example the annotation is defined for Hand Valves and you are trying to edit it while in Gate Valve. Try selecting the parent class and check the same annotation. If that is not working, try the next level up, all the way up to Engineering Items.


Siva Thankappan
Technical Sales, Plant Solutions, Asia Pacific
Autodesk Singapore
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD P&ID Category!

The AutoCAD P&ID forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!