AutoCAD MEP Wishes

AutoCAD MEP Wishes

Reply
New Member
mserdiuk
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-10-2003
Message 1 of 9 (422 Views)

Electrical Bus Duct

422 Views, 8 Replies
12-10-2003 01:19 AM
I am looking for a routine to draw intelligent Electrical Bus Duct in Building Systems for Power distribution.
Active Member
Jamie Fox
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-15-2004
Message 2 of 9 (422 Views)

Re: Electrical Bus Duct

07-26-2004 01:43 PM in reply to: mserdiuk
I agree, and would like to see this function. The 3D space coordination for electrical busduct would be, in my opinion, just as important as conduit (if not more important).
Member
stelthorst
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 3 of 9 (422 Views)

Re: Electrical Bus Duct

09-30-2007 09:18 AM in reply to: mserdiuk
I have made a new style based on cable tray to draw buss duct. I still can't get the elbows correct but it's better than nothing.

I would love for buss duct to be included in AMEP.
New Member
JRyan619
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
Message 4 of 9 (422 Views)

Re: Electrical Bus Duct

04-01-2008 08:26 AM in reply to: mserdiuk
A year after this post started (2004) I used AutoCAD and 3D solids to coordinate a Central Plant Electrical Power, 27 bus duct runs and only one part needed to be reordered. We were the only trade to do so in 3D. Today every trade has excellent tools in AutoCAD MEP Except electrical! No Busduct No Conduit. Nothing! Sorry it has conduit but not really correct conduit. Try to prefab off the conduit catalog and it all goes to hell. No correct bending radius or even OD sizes.

Autodesk Time to make this happen. Or at least buy into G.E.'s Autobus solution!

If you want to draw correct busduct there is a tool called Autobus buy G.E.. Everything you ever wanted. Works inside AutoCAD 2000.

Otherwise use the hvac tool for duct. Rectangular duct, size per your spec. and use 90 elbows and 45 elbows and you can limp through with minimal problems.
New Member
mavanden
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-18-2008
Message 5 of 9 (422 Views)

Re: Electrical Bus Duct

12-18-2008 11:42 AM in reply to: mserdiuk
I must create some major busduct drawings and have tried almost everything.
Becoming desperate I tried it with Autobus 2005.
I'm constantly receive an "error" message: Autocad message :file problem after I installed Autobus2005
as well: Invalid application name in 1001 groupBad mod status=-5003
Distinguished Contributor
rdswords
Posts: 240
Registered: ‎05-15-2007
Message 6 of 9 (422 Views)

Re: Electrical Bus Duct

01-09-2009 01:03 PM in reply to: mserdiuk
This is all critical for my firm as well. Conduit was not properly implemented. It was just a cheap translation of pipes. There is no bus duct or ductbank capability. You can't route groups/arrays of conduits together (i.e. you have to individually manage every conduit). Conduits don't have any integrated contents/wire properties. Rise/drops are a nightmare, and have been greatly overcomplicated in MEP. I don't even want to get into display problems with MEP objects in general.

It's all known stuff, but is ignored by Autodesk in favor of new features that can look appealing in a brochure (regardless of how well they function).
New Member
baustin104
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-18-2009
Message 7 of 9 (422 Views)

Re: Electrical Bus Duct

03-18-2009 12:38 PM in reply to: mserdiuk
Can anyone tell me where I can find G.E.'s Autobus solution? I have googled everything I can think of and searched G.E.'s site. I still can't find it! Thanks!
New Member
mavanden
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-18-2008
Message 8 of 9 (422 Views)

Re: Electrical Bus Duct

03-19-2009 11:45 AM in reply to: mserdiuk
I found it at http://www.geindustrial.com/cwc/Dispatcher?REQUEST=PRODUCTS&famid=6
Active Member
itsupport
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎05-11-2009
Message 9 of 9 (422 Views)

Re: Electrical Bus Duct

09-21-2009 08:32 AM in reply to: mserdiuk
I guess that Busbar trunking is just too difficult and beyond the capabilities of AutoDesk, its still not a feature in MEP 2010 six years after this thread started.

Is it any wonder that there is so much resistance to working in 3D.

Give us the tools to do the job. (BIG PLEASE, LOVE & KISSES if it helps)
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.