Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

All II ask for is...

5 REPLIES 5
Message 1 of 6
Anonymous
251 Views, 5 Replies

All II ask for is...

...a comprehensive AutoCAD based MEP software package that is usable in the "real world".

Allow me to start out by stating that I am a Senior Mechanical/HVAC designer with 27 years of experiance.
I have also held positions in CAD Management on the Discipline and Corporate levels.

My firm is currently using ABS 2007.1 and have the 2008 MEP suite in house. There isn't much of a difference between the two when is comes down to providing the end user with content.

Example: Why can't we have every SMACNA duct fitting available to use instead of trying to create our own or coming up with a work-around?

The only reason I'm using this software is because our corporate management has stated that I have to - I would NEVER recommend ABS or AMEP to any of my peers.

In the world of MEP software, this offering by Autodesk stands out as a really bad joke and has frustrated me like nothing else has.

I sincerely hope that Autodesk provides MEP Engineering firms with the software they NEED in the next major release of AutoCAD MEP and Revit MEP.

I would actually consider seeking out another employer who does not use this software if Aurodesk does not give us what we NEED.

Rant over...
5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
Qwaldo
in reply to: Anonymous

We too are using the under developed buggy ABS/MEP and suffering our daily dose of FATAL ERRORs and other horrors of usability.

You should cross us off your list of possible employers.

I also wish it was a usable software package in the real world. Yeah sure people are using it but how many of those enjoy using it? Personally I find it to be a complete nighmare of a software package for 3D coordination.