AutoCAD MEP General Discussion

AutoCAD MEP General Discussion

Reply
Valued Mentor
smbrennan85
Posts: 283
Registered: ‎09-29-2010
Message 1 of 18 (985 Views)

Where's the power of E in MEP?

985 Views, 17 Replies
11-03-2012 01:14 PM

Every year, I hope Autodesk makes some great strides in improving the Electrical portion of MEP, and every year, I find myself disappointed. The biggest improvement came in I think 2010, where conduit size was actual O.D. since then, it appears that nothing major has been improved. I don't want to go into details since there is a "wishlist," but features I'd like to see with more flexibility include:

 

  • Advanced Wires. For example, whatever happened to switch legs? And Travelers? Also, do I work for the only electrical contractor that separates wire ticks into separate networks (ie you can't exceed 3 hots for a single neutral when wiring a basic power home run. If we have 6 hots and 2 neutrals, we Separate them as H-N-N-N-H-N-N-N). Also, as a company standard we have the Grounds at the "tail" end of the run, meaning in the order of hots, neutrals, and ground, the ground is farthest from the direction of the panel, whlie the hot is the "head" end. Because of this, we sometimes have conduit that shares circuits where the current moves in opposite direction. This results in combinatinos like H-H-N-G-N-H. Does anyone else out there use a similar standard.

Okay I said I wasn't going to go into detail, but I can see I already am, so I'll stop there. Regardless, am I the only one that thinks the Electrical content of MEP could be improved A LOT. Is it because there's so many conditions to account for it's a challenge for Autodesk? I personally find that hard to believe with the brainpower they have. It almost appears that what they need is someone with years of experience in electrical construction, or a team of members, to help guide the programmers in what the electrical content should have.

 

Shawn B.

Follow me on Twitter @That85CADGuy.  ||    Connect with me on Linkedin.
To help improve Autodesk Products, please Click Here to provide feedback.
To help improve the use of these Forums, please  Accept As Solution and  Give Kudos.

Distinguished Contributor
alan.skipper
Posts: 116
Registered: ‎03-01-2008
Message 2 of 18 (975 Views)

Re: Where's the power of E in MEP?

11-05-2012 02:18 AM in reply to: smbrennan85

Hello

 

I was beginning to think that I was the only person in the world not happy with the "E" in MEP. as far as I'm concerned "There is no E in MEP" particularly from the United Kingdom point of view.

 

Cheers

Valued Contributor
s.lawrence
Posts: 71
Registered: ‎04-18-2011
Message 3 of 18 (957 Views)

Re: Where's the power of E in MEP?

11-05-2012 08:52 AM in reply to: alan.skipper

^^ What he said ^ ^

Distinguished Contributor
alan.skipper
Posts: 116
Registered: ‎03-01-2008
Message 4 of 18 (802 Views)

Re: Where's the power of E in MEP?

12-07-2012 03:26 AM in reply to: s.lawrence

Complete silence from Autodesk on this one; as usual.

Valued Mentor
smbrennan85
Posts: 283
Registered: ‎09-29-2010
Message 5 of 18 (723 Views)

Re: Where's the power of E in MEP?

12-22-2012 09:21 PM in reply to: alan.skipper

I'm really surprised that Autodesk hasn't spoken up on this. Maybe one day they'll realize that a lot of what is done electrically is not just designers. They really need to look at their approach to BIM overall more in depth for Electrical.

Shawn B.

Follow me on Twitter @That85CADGuy.  ||    Connect with me on Linkedin.
To help improve Autodesk Products, please Click Here to provide feedback.
To help improve the use of these Forums, please  Accept As Solution and  Give Kudos.

Distinguished Contributor
alan.skipper
Posts: 116
Registered: ‎03-01-2008
Message 6 of 18 (718 Views)

Re: Where's the power of E in MEP?

12-23-2012 02:18 AM in reply to: smbrennan85

Autodesk DO NOT CARE. But they are not alone; most other MEP software houses do not have any proper E in their MEP either

 

When will they all realise that nothing will run without electricity!!!

 

I bet we won't hear anything from Autodesk on this.

 

Alan

Valued Contributor
Mark_Richards
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎10-02-2008
Message 7 of 18 (636 Views)

Re: Where's the power of E in MEP?

01-10-2013 12:52 PM in reply to: smbrennan85


Amen.

Every time a new release is announced, I rush to open the new features list like a kid on Christmas only to be met with dissapointment.   Oooh.....wow...., pimpy new transparency control, that wil help me get my drawings out the door quicker.

Face it, E is the ugly stepsister in the MEP family.

I wouldnt complain so loud if I could just buy an upgrade when something worthwile comes out but snice I have to fork out piles of cash every year to stay on subsciption, I'd like a little something in return for my investment.

 

My post from a few years ago pointing out that they do have an army of coders, they just don't apply them well...


Mark said:

Please stop changing the user interface for no apparent reason. It's a huge PITA.

As long as I can remember, the properties pallet icon was a sheet with a finger pointing at it. Now it looks like a commodore 64 computer. Why? Same with explode, It's been a stick of dynamite forever. Ditto for dozens of others.

Does anyone realize how huge of a productivity killer it is to upgrade to new releases? at least 20 hours for me to get things back the way they were, bugs worked out, pallets the way I like them, templates re-pathed, learn the new features, Etc.

Now I have to re-learn goofy new icons that I've known for ever? I welcome new functionality and don't mind investing the effort to learn new features but Icons should not be one of them. Seriously.

I can't believe Autodesk didn't have something better to spend coding hours on in MEP.

Yes I'm ranting, but I just had to turn tool tips on to find the properties palette button.


 

Valued Mentor
smbrennan85
Posts: 283
Registered: ‎09-29-2010
Message 8 of 18 (530 Views)

Re: Where's the power of E in MEP?

02-14-2013 05:06 AM in reply to: smbrennan85

Something else that would be nice, is for Autodesk to recognize that WIRE goes INSIDE CONDUIT. They're not separate ... why would you have conduit but no wire? I can understand wire but no conduit, but here in Chicago EVERYTHING has to be in conduit.

Shawn B.

Follow me on Twitter @That85CADGuy.  ||    Connect with me on Linkedin.
To help improve Autodesk Products, please Click Here to provide feedback.
To help improve the use of these Forums, please  Accept As Solution and  Give Kudos.

Distinguished Contributor
alan.skipper
Posts: 116
Registered: ‎03-01-2008
Message 9 of 18 (525 Views)

Re: Where's the power of E in MEP?

02-14-2013 05:14 AM in reply to: smbrennan85

I don't believe that the guys at Autodesk ever talked to electrical engineers, if they did the engineers they spoke to had never been on a building site and installed anything. They certainly did not speak to UK engineers.

 

I keep offering my services to Autodesk but they don't want to know.

 

Alan

Valued Contributor
s.lawrence
Posts: 71
Registered: ‎04-18-2011
Message 10 of 18 (521 Views)

Re: Where's the power of E in MEP?

02-14-2013 05:24 AM in reply to: alan.skipper

Yup, we're currently muddling our way through the containment which still doesn't work properly, have just sort of accepted it now! I'm teaching a new user to use cable tray at the mo, and everytime he switches to add a piece of trunking, then back to cable tray the settings go haywire until we force every routing type fitting. And still we have the problem of elbows, Tees etc 'inverting themselves' which doesn't look great on renders or 3D views.

 

Maybe one day....

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD MEP Category!

The AutoCAD MEP forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.