AutoCAD MEP General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
bil-with-one-L
Posts: 89
Registered: ‎08-04-2003
Message 1 of 10 (334 Views)

walls disappear in xref is this an ABS thing?

334 Views, 9 Replies
07-11-2003 03:18 AM
I've posted this at the ADT discussion group too, but since this may relate to the ABS prgram that I'm working from I'll post it here too. -- I've got a drawing where the walls show up just fine... looks lovely. When I xref the file however... my doors are there... my columns are there... but my walls just don't show up. actually they show up in the front or iso views just not the plan view. -- I'm using ABS2004, I've turned on and thawed every layer. I've tried all of the display configs and the walls show up in the diagnostic config and the reflect configs. -- it's almost as if the normals are messed up... is this possible... is this fixable.. does anyone have any other ideas? -- As I've stated before I'm new to ADT and ABS and might be unaware of settings. -- thanks for any help.
*[Autodesk], Lars-Ake Johansson
Message 2 of 10 (334 Views)

Re: walls disappear in xref is this an ABS thing?

07-11-2003 04:05 AM in reply to: bil-with-one-L
Hi,

 

Have you checked in the Display Manager
that the walls have a Display Representation activated?

 

In ABS Floor Plan it should be Plan
Screened.

 

 

Lars-Ake Johansson

 


style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">
I've
posted this at the ADT discussion group too, but since this may relate to the
ABS prgram that I'm working from I'll post it here too. -- I've got a drawing
where the walls show up just fine... looks lovely. When I xref the file
however... my doors are there... my columns are there... but my walls just
don't show up. actually they show up in the front or iso views just not the
plan view. -- I'm using ABS2004, I've turned on and thawed every layer. I've
tried all of the display configs and the walls show up in the diagnostic
config and the reflect configs. -- it's almost as if the normals are messed
up... is this possible... is this fixable.. does anyone have any other ideas?
-- As I've stated before I'm new to ADT and ABS and might be unaware of
settings. -- thanks for any help.
Valued Contributor
bil-with-one-L
Posts: 89
Registered: ‎08-04-2003
Message 3 of 10 (334 Views)

Re:

07-11-2003 04:05 AM in reply to: bil-with-one-L
just checked... and it is as you've suggested it should be. any other idea's?
Valued Contributor
bil-with-one-L
Posts: 89
Registered: ‎08-04-2003
Message 4 of 10 (334 Views)

Re:

07-14-2003 12:44 AM in reply to: bil-with-one-L
here's an interesting twist (in my mind) If i use the project navigator to attach the file... the walls won't show. If I use the xref manager to attach the file... they show just fine... am I just stating something that everyone else already knows? Is this how it's supposed to be? should i be using teh xref manager and not the project navigator to xref my files? Anyone have any thoughts here?
Employee
jason.martin
Posts: 182
Registered: ‎08-21-2003
Message 5 of 10 (334 Views)

Re:

07-14-2003 01:26 AM in reply to: bil-with-one-L
Hi Bil -

Could you please check the color of all of the A-Anno-Scrn layers in the drawing (including the ones in the Xrefs)?
Valued Contributor
bil-with-one-L
Posts: 89
Registered: ‎08-04-2003
Message 6 of 10 (334 Views)

Re:

07-14-2003 02:13 AM in reply to: bil-with-one-L
I hope i understand what you are asking... there are two such layers one in the drawing I am xrefing into, one in an xref for the drawing giving me the problem. both layers are color 8. -- Is this what you wanted to know... if not I'm not sure what exactly you're asking me to check (or why)
Valued Contributor
bil-with-one-L
Posts: 89
Registered: ‎08-04-2003
Message 7 of 10 (334 Views)

Re:

07-14-2003 02:29 AM in reply to: bil-with-one-L
okay... i'm hoping this helps you to help me. I've discovered that as long as the xref is inserted at an elevation of 3'6 or less the walls show up... but from 3'7 and above the walls won't show. -- I'm sure this has to be tied to some kind of setting. What can it be?
Employee
jason.martin
Posts: 182
Registered: ‎08-21-2003
Message 8 of 10 (334 Views)

Re:

07-14-2003 02:33 AM in reply to: bil-with-one-L
Depending on what template has been used to create the architectural background, it my be very hard to see the architectural background. The color of the A-Anno-Scrn layer, in the ADT 2004 templates is color 250. If you are running with a black background color 250 can be very hard to see and you may think that the information isn't there.

Would it be possible for you to email me one of the drawings?

jason
Employee
jason.martin
Posts: 182
Registered: ‎08-21-2003
Message 9 of 10 (334 Views)

Re:

07-14-2003 02:42 AM in reply to: bil-with-one-L
Format -> Display Manager -> Configurations -> [Bold Config] -> Cut Plan Tab and change the cut plan to a higher value.
Valued Contributor
bil-with-one-L
Posts: 89
Registered: ‎08-04-2003
Message 10 of 10 (334 Views)

Re:

07-14-2003 03:16 AM in reply to: bil-with-one-L
I've changed it now to everything from 4' to 24' and still my walls aren't showing up. My building is only two stories... 22' high. I'm sure that this is where the issue is but is there a second setting or step that makes this actually go into effect. Wait! I'm changing it in the drawing that i'm xrefing into... do i need to change it in the drawing that i'm xrefing? -- Okay I did that and it finally worked... I'm still confused as heck about what all this means... but I thank you for helping me to resolve the specific issue... I'll have to try to find some documentation on what exactly all of this means... I don't see anything that extensive in the ABS help files or concept guide. --
Thanks Again
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD MEP Category!

The AutoCAD MEP forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.