AutoCAD MEP General Discussion

AutoCAD MEP General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
kevin.obrien
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎02-03-2009
Message 1 of 7 (749 Views)
Accepted Solution

unwanted layers

749 Views, 6 Replies
09-25-2012 08:35 AM

When I bring a block in from my tool palette how can I stop MEP from importing layers I don’t need?

 

For example I bring in a receptacle in from my tool palette I want MEP to bring it in on the layer E-POWR-WALL-N which it does but when I open my layer manager I also have 25 other layer MEP generated like

E-Devc-Std

G-Anno-Std-Conn

G-Bgrd-Std-Scrn

M-Hidn-Std-High

M-Pipe-Std-Clin

These are just a few of the layers MEP is importing into my drawing is there a way to stop this

Thanks

Kevin

The layers are generated by the display components from the layer keys, and if you use systems then they are generated by the layer key assigned to the system definition.  Keeps the templates clean and empty of pre-built in layers that clutter up a drawing and may or may not be used.

Joshua

Product Support
Joshua.Benoist
Posts: 518
Registered: ‎08-23-2006
Message 2 of 7 (698 Views)

Re: unwanted layers

10-01-2012 01:33 PM in reply to: kevin.obrien

Kevin,

What is your version of AutoCAD MEP? The 2013 version comes with new templates that only have 4 built-in layers.  The "old" MEP templates had 29 built-in layers, mostly in support of the displays and their components.  In 2013, we added layer keys to displays and removed them from the layer manager in the 2013 templates.  As you draw new objects from the 2013 templates, more layers may generate from the new display component layer keys "as needed."  If you have an old template, you may still have the 29 built-in layers.

 

Hope this helps,

Joshua

 

 


______________________________________________________________

If my post answers your question, please click the "Accept as Solution" button. This helps everyone find answers more quickly!



Joshua Benoist, PE
Senior Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Product Support
Joshua.Benoist
Posts: 518
Registered: ‎08-23-2006
Message 3 of 7 (697 Views)

Re: unwanted layers

10-01-2012 01:35 PM in reply to: Joshua.Benoist

Should have mentioned that we could not remove all 29 from the 2013 templates.  There are 4 built-in layers that are not associated with the diplays but are from blocks that support the styles.  They could not be removed.  Please expect 4 layers in the 2013 MEP templates.  AutoCAD Architecture templates went down to 0 layers!

 

Joshua



Joshua Benoist, PE
Senior Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Product Support
Joshua.Benoist
Posts: 518
Registered: ‎08-23-2006
Message 4 of 7 (676 Views)

Re: unwanted layers

10-03-2012 07:27 AM in reply to: kevin.obrien

Just wanted to follow up.  Did the above info help make sense of it all?

 

Joshua

 

 


______________________________________________________________

If my post answers your question, please click the "Accept as Solution" button. This helps everyone find answers more quickly!



Joshua Benoist, PE
Senior Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Contributor
kevin.obrien
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎02-03-2009
Message 5 of 7 (653 Views)

Re: unwanted layers

10-08-2012 05:27 AM in reply to: Joshua.Benoist
Hi Joshua, Not really I use a template with know layers in it just layer 0 and defpoints but when I bring in a device in it generates all those other layer and if I delete the device and the layers and bring the device back in it doesn't bring the layers back I'm guessing because the block definition is already in the drawing I add a couple of screen shot to show you what happens.. [cid:image002.jpg@01CDA52E.B67CE710] [cid:image008.jpg@01CDA52E.B67CE710] [cid:image009.jpg@01CDA52E.B67CE710] Kevin O'Brien Kevin.Obrien@bce-eng.com (404) 382 9557 ________________________________ This message may contain confidential and/or privileged information. If you are not the addressee or authorized to receive this for the addressee, you must not use, copy, disclose, or take any action based on this message or any information herein. If you have received this message in error, please advise the sender immediately by reply e-mail and delete this message. Thank you for your cooperation.
Product Support
Joshua.Benoist
Posts: 518
Registered: ‎08-23-2006
Message 6 of 7 (616 Views)

Re: unwanted layers

10-11-2012 07:25 AM in reply to: kevin.obrien

The layers are generated by the display components from the layer keys, and if you use systems then they are generated by the layer key assigned to the system definition.  Keeps the templates clean and empty of pre-built in layers that clutter up a drawing and may or may not be used.

Joshua



Joshua Benoist, PE
Senior Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Contributor
kevin.obrien
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎02-03-2009
Message 7 of 7 (612 Views)

Re: unwanted layers

10-11-2012 09:12 AM in reply to: Joshua.Benoist
Thanks, that helps. Kevin O'Brien Kevin.Obrien@bce-eng.com (404) 382 9557 ________________________________ This message may contain confidential and/or privileged information. If you are not the addressee or authorized to receive this for the addressee, you must not use, copy, disclose, or take any action based on this message or any information herein. If you have received this message in error, please advise the sender immediately by reply e-mail and delete this message. Thank you for your cooperation.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD MEP Category!

The AutoCAD MEP forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.