AutoCAD MEP General Discussion

AutoCAD MEP General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
NicholasWard
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎02-07-2011
Message 1 of 6 (783 Views)

Thick lines inherited from Architectural base drawing

783 Views, 5 Replies
03-27-2012 11:03 PM

I'm presently doing some building services drawings that use DWGs from an architect as the base drawing. Many of the lines on these drawings are ridiculously thick, not just when plotting but when displayed as well. Visually, they're more like a hatch than a line, but all their properties say they're normal lines.

 

I can't get them to display as (normal!) thin, single pixel-wide lines, not by changing their properties, matching their properties from other lines, etc. Short of manually redrawing each and every one of them, does anyone know what these are and how to fix them? Whatever the architect needed 100mm wide lines for, all they do for me is cover up the mechanical services.

__________________________________________________________________________
There are 10 types of people in the world: Those who understand binary and those who don't.
Valued Contributor
jcleghorn
Posts: 101
Registered: ‎03-17-2008
Message 2 of 6 (770 Views)

Re: Thick lines inherited from Architectural base drawing

03-28-2012 08:14 AM in reply to: NicholasWard

Check to make sure "Show/Hide Lineweight" is unchecked at the bottom of the command line.

Product Support
Joshua.Benoist
Posts: 518
Registered: ‎08-23-2006
Message 3 of 6 (768 Views)

Re: Thick lines inherited from Architectural base drawing

03-28-2012 09:19 AM in reply to: jcleghorn

Are you in a CTB or STB file?  When you say "Normal" are you referring to the default Plot Style name "Normal" or are you casually using "Normal" in a sentence to indicate what you feel the layer settings are "Normal" or "Regular" nothing out of the "Normal."  Reason is that in an STB based drawing, the "Normal" Plot Style name causes linework on that layer to plot in color at that color's lineweight, in lieu of black with the layer's lineweight property. 

 

The other possibility here is that you may be using a visual style other than 2D Wireframe.  The other visual styles ignore layer linetype/weight settings (especially the Hidden VS's).  Set your visual style to 2D Wireframe aqnd see if that makes a difference.  The lineweight on/off toggle only affects what you see on screen, and does not directly affect the plot.

 


______________________________________________________________

If my post answers your question, please click the "Accept as Solution" button. This helps everyone find answers more quickly!



Joshua Benoist, PE
Senior Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Active Contributor
NicholasWard
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎02-07-2011
Message 4 of 6 (761 Views)

Re: Thick lines inherited from Architectural base drawing

03-28-2012 07:15 PM in reply to: NicholasWard

@jcleghorn

Display lineweight is unchecked.

 

@Joshua.Benoist

The file is one of ours, using our ctb file. First thing we do when receiving an architecural layout is copy the contents of model space into one of our files. The original files typically have >300 errors found in the drawing when opening.

 

We have our own plot style file. "Normal" in this case refers to every single line I've ever encountered that wasn't one of the overly thick lines on an architecural drawing. It's a somewhat vague definition, but this trait is one that seems unique to these lines. Essentially "Normal" refers to any line or polyline, the display and plot traits of which are actually dependent on its properties.

 

Changing viewstyle away from 2D Wireframe doesn't make them normal thickness again. Instead the lines are shown as unfilled outlines. Significantly less annoying, but still far from ideal when printing or viewing. This is what they look like, here being used to show the locations of smoke walls:Comparison.jpg

Any ideas?

__________________________________________________________________________
There are 10 types of people in the world: Those who understand binary and those who don't.
Product Support
Joshua.Benoist
Posts: 518
Registered: ‎08-23-2006
Message 5 of 6 (754 Views)

Re: Thick lines inherited from Architectural base drawing

03-29-2012 07:52 AM in reply to: NicholasWard

Those are polylines and they have a polyline width.  They are different from regular lines which use the layer's linewidth. 

 

To edit an existing polyline width, type in PEDIT at the command line.  Then type W for Width.  Enter a value.

 

Another way to edit an existing polyline width, select the polyline and open your property palette.  Find "Global Width" and change the value.  Note:  The start and ends of a polyline can have different widths hence the two settings immediately above "Global Width" for Start and End Width.  And that is why polylines do not use the layer's linewidth.

 

To set the polyline global width before ever drawing a new polyline, type in PLINEWID at the command line.  The command to draw a new polyline is PLINE. (Threw that in there to round out the conversation.)

 

HTH,

 

Joshua



Joshua Benoist, PE
Senior Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Member
griffico
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-13-2012
Message 6 of 6 (581 Views)

Re: Thick lines inherited from Architectural base drawing

12-13-2012 10:55 AM in reply to: NicholasWard

I typically select all polylines using the "select similar" command, then just change the "global width" in the properties.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD MEP Category!

The AutoCAD MEP forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!