AutoCAD MEP General Discussion

AutoCAD MEP General Discussion

Reply
Valued Mentor
2,346 Posts
9 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-18-2003
Post 1 of 9
Accepted Solution

Taget AutoCAD MEP Start up icon - something has changed?

932 Views, 8 Replies
09-10-2012 07:21 AM

"C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD 2013\acad.exe" /ld "C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD 2013\AecBase.dbx" /p "BuildTWC Systems Palette" /product "MEP" /language "en-US"

 

I was just looking at the MEP startup Icon... and I needed to visit the AutoCAD MEP 2013 folder in C:\Program Files\Autodesk... but to my suprise there was none...

only a AutoCAD 2013? I installed MEP, - Programs and Features says I did... but there is no AutoCAD MEP 2013 folder?

What gives... Also, has the command line switches changed? ... there is now a product switch.

 

???

 

Keith,

The /product syntax is necessary.  It may have worked when you deleted that string as it resorts to the last used product.  With AutoCAD Architecture installed, use the Architecture desktop icon.  Close Architecture.  Then try the MEP icon again without that syntax.  My guess is that it will launch as Architecture since it was last used.  Put the syntax back in, and it directs it back to launch as MEP.  Without the syntax, you may not know what program you may get.  With the syntax, you get MEP program launched to the MEP workspace, MEP profile and template.

Joshua

*Expert Elite*
1,277 Posts
109 Kudos
Registered: ‎03-13-2008
Post 2 of 9

Re: Taget AutoCAD MEP Start up icon - something has changed?

09-10-2012 07:51 AM in reply to: mdhutchinson

Alot has changed with program locations in 2013.  For one prior to 2013 if you had Autocad installed and installed Autocad MEP it would install all autocad components again, autocad architecture components, and then the autocad mep components.  It was redundent.  On top of that if you had several verticals installed it would install those items numerous times.  Now with 2013 it will install the Autocad core components in the main autocad directory.  Then inside of that directory it will install any addons only once.  So to answer your question, the Autocad MEP folder for 2013 is located inside the Autocad 2013 folder under the name of MEP.

 

Since MEP is now located inside the autocad directory, you are now starting autocad with MEP loaded as an addon.  It was always doing this but now all the autodesk programs use the same core items.  This is what the product switch does.


Keith Brown AutoCAD MEP BLOG | RSS Feed
AutoCAD MEP 2014 | Revit 2014 | EastCoast CAD/CAM V6.1 | Visual Studio 2013
────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate. Thank you!
Valued Mentor
2,346 Posts
9 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-18-2003
Post 3 of 9

Re: Taget AutoCAD MEP Start up icon - something has changed?

09-10-2012 08:12 AM in reply to: Keith.Brown

So to run MEP you absolutely need the /product "MEP" switch... to run MEP?

 

Is there still a limit to the number of characters in the Target string?

What is the limit?

*Expert Elite*
1,277 Posts
109 Kudos
Registered: ‎03-13-2008
Post 4 of 9

Re: Taget AutoCAD MEP Start up icon - something has changed?

09-10-2012 08:18 AM in reply to: mdhutchinson

I am sorry, I don't know the answers to those questions, but if you remove the MEP switch I can still run Autocad MEP.  That could be because of the profile I have currently loaded also.

 

Maybe Joshua can answer those questions.


Keith Brown AutoCAD MEP BLOG | RSS Feed
AutoCAD MEP 2014 | Revit 2014 | EastCoast CAD/CAM V6.1 | Visual Studio 2013
────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate. Thank you!
Product Support
519 Posts
16 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-23-2006
Post 5 of 9

Re: Taget AutoCAD MEP Start up icon - something has changed?

09-11-2012 07:35 AM in reply to: Keith.Brown

Keith,

The /product syntax is necessary.  It may have worked when you deleted that string as it resorts to the last used product.  With AutoCAD Architecture installed, use the Architecture desktop icon.  Close Architecture.  Then try the MEP icon again without that syntax.  My guess is that it will launch as Architecture since it was last used.  Put the syntax back in, and it directs it back to launch as MEP.  Without the syntax, you may not know what program you may get.  With the syntax, you get MEP program launched to the MEP workspace, MEP profile and template.

Joshua



Joshua Benoist, PE
Senior Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

*Expert Elite*
1,277 Posts
109 Kudos
Registered: ‎03-13-2008
Post 6 of 9

Re: Taget AutoCAD MEP Start up icon - something has changed?

09-12-2012 06:14 AM in reply to: Joshua.Benoist

Makes sense.  Thanks for the clarification Joshua.


Keith Brown AutoCAD MEP BLOG | RSS Feed
AutoCAD MEP 2014 | Revit 2014 | EastCoast CAD/CAM V6.1 | Visual Studio 2013
────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate. Thank you!
Valued Mentor
2,346 Posts
9 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-18-2003
Post 7 of 9

Re: Taget AutoCAD MEP Start up icon - something has changed?

09-24-2012 11:17 AM in reply to: Keith.Brown

It used to be that there was a limit on how long the Target command line sting could be. Is this still the case... and what is the limit?

Active Contributor
30 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎01-04-2011
Post 8 of 9

Re: Taget AutoCAD MEP Start up icon - something has changed?

09-27-2012 07:07 PM in reply to: mdhutchinson

What is the proper string for a shortcut to the Autocad 2013 profile?

Valued Mentor
2,346 Posts
9 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-18-2003
Post 9 of 9

Re: Taget AutoCAD MEP Start up icon - something has changed?

09-27-2012 08:09 PM in reply to: mdhutchinson

I presume something like...

 

"C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD 2013\acad.exe" /p "AutoCAD" /product "ACAD" /language "en-US"

 

I'd be interested in this also.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD MEP Category!

The AutoCAD MEP forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the future of the Autodesk Community? To participate in this brief usability study, please click here. Your time and input is greatly appreciated!