AutoCAD MEP General Discussion

AutoCAD MEP General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
StephenLilly3842
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎05-26-2006
Message 1 of 3 (336 Views)
Accepted Solution

Restore default MvParts catalog

336 Views, 2 Replies
11-18-2011 09:43 PM

I just installed MEP 2012 and when trying to migrate my parts catalog from 2011 I somehow messed it up and now need to restore the original catalog as was installed during the initial installation. I tried using the DVD, but it will not go beyond the screen that shows that the program is installed on my computer. Any suggestions?

The key here is to manually remove the migrated catalog.  When two catalogs sit side by side, especially migrated catalogs, there is probably duplicate MvParts.  One copy from the old migrated catalog, one from the current version.  Duplicates break the catalogs and when you launch the program, you get the "Regenerate catalog" message, every time you launch.

 

There is a workflow to migrate old catalogs.  I made videos posted to YouTube.  It uses 2008 to 2010 as an example, but can be applied between any MEP version.

http://www.youtube.com/SupportAcadMEP#g/c/A6ED7A8AC5C727F5

 

To get back to a clean installation, follow the attached instructions.

HTH

 

 


______________________________________________________________

If my post answers your question, please click the "Accept as Solution" button. This helps everyone find answers more quickly!

Valued Contributor
jcampbell
Posts: 55
Registered: ‎06-05-2007
Message 2 of 3 (320 Views)

Re: Restore default MvParts catalog

11-21-2011 05:53 AM in reply to: StephenLilly3842

Did you try just doing a re-install from the add\remove control panel?  You should be able to just remove affected catalogs and perform a re-install.  I just tested it out by removing my delivered MvPart catalog and it replaced it just fine.

Product Support
Joshua.Benoist
Posts: 518
Registered: ‎08-23-2006
Message 3 of 3 (318 Views)

Re: Restore default MvParts catalog

11-21-2011 06:46 AM in reply to: jcampbell

The key here is to manually remove the migrated catalog.  When two catalogs sit side by side, especially migrated catalogs, there is probably duplicate MvParts.  One copy from the old migrated catalog, one from the current version.  Duplicates break the catalogs and when you launch the program, you get the "Regenerate catalog" message, every time you launch.

 

There is a workflow to migrate old catalogs.  I made videos posted to YouTube.  It uses 2008 to 2010 as an example, but can be applied between any MEP version.

http://www.youtube.com/SupportAcadMEP#g/c/A6ED7A8AC5C727F5

 

To get back to a clean installation, follow the attached instructions.

HTH

 

 


______________________________________________________________

If my post answers your question, please click the "Accept as Solution" button. This helps everyone find answers more quickly!



Joshua Benoist, PE
Senior Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD MEP Category!

The AutoCAD MEP forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.