AutoCAD MEP General Discussion

AutoCAD MEP General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
advandes
Posts: 90
Registered: ‎12-10-2003
Message 1 of 4 (187 Views)

Menu Pull Downs in 2004

187 Views, 3 Replies
07-07-2003 08:56 PM
Why have all the Pull Down Menus changed? Is it me, or has everything changed? Is there some magical button somewhere that will organize the menus as they were in 2002 and beyond, or do I have to customize them all? I can't even find the Hatch routine...ARRGHH. Any comments and ideas would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Aaron
Aaron A. Gray
Advance Design
369 Sagamore Drive
Rochester, NY 14617
585-734-8277
Distinguished Contributor
jmcfaddn
Posts: 399
Registered: ‎12-01-2003
Message 2 of 4 (187 Views)

Re: Menu Pull Downs in 2004

07-07-2003 10:18 PM in reply to: advandes
This is what autodesk calls progress. :smileyhappy: They feel we were overwhelmed with all the pull down menus, so they decided to remove them. Would have been nice if they would have given a road map to the new locations. But then again they need something to put in the next upgrade, otherwise you don't feel like your getting your money's worth for the subscription. You can still get back to the old style pulldowns if you prefer. Whether or not they have the new commands available in them is still a question. Under the WINDOW pulldown menu go to PULLDOWNS and select whichever menu type you prefer. Be careful though, if you set one up, then decide to try another all your previous settings will be lost. I believe most of us have discovered this one the hard way.

Good luck.
Valued Contributor
bil-with-one-L
Posts: 89
Registered: ‎08-04-2003
Message 3 of 4 (187 Views)

Re: Menu Pull Downs in 2004

07-07-2003 10:48 PM in reply to: advandes
I'm not the expert... but I believe that if you go to the windows menu and choose pulldowns>building systems 3> you'll find the building systems menus you're looking for. -- if additionally you want your autocad menus as you are used to seeing them you'll have to use your menuload command to load the acad.mnu... I'll assumae that you're familiar with that command rather than to explain all that... but if you need help with that just reply and I'll do my best to get you there. -- after you've set all of that up it's best to create a profile that maintains those settings... that way it's easy to go back and forth between the ABS2004 version of the menu (if you need it) and your more personalized version. -- also.. I believe that the desktop icon for ABS2004 automatically forces the ABS2004 profile and menu layout... to deal with that I've created multiple desktop icons each using a different profile based on what I need on that particular day... if I'm building walls windows and doors... I use the ADT icon that calls my adt profile and menus... if I'm making changes to some 2d non ADT or ABS CAD files... I use my vanilla acad icon that calls my acad profile and vanilla acad menus... and the original desktop icon calls my building systems menus and profile. -- hope that helps. -- Bil (with one L)
Valued Contributor
advandes
Posts: 90
Registered: ‎12-10-2003
Message 4 of 4 (187 Views)

Re:

07-08-2003 12:57 AM in reply to: advandes
Thank you everyone for your support.

Aaron
Aaron A. Gray
Advance Design
369 Sagamore Drive
Rochester, NY 14617
585-734-8277
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD MEP Category!

The AutoCAD MEP forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.