AutoCAD MEP General Discussion

AutoCAD MEP General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
gary
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎09-28-2007
Message 1 of 6 (405 Views)

lost circuit connections in circuit manager

405 Views, 5 Replies
03-06-2011 07:33 PM

This has happened several times now.  I get all my devices connected to circuits with the associated loads.  Save the drawings leave autocad or change and work on other projects come back a couple of days later and their gone.  The circuit manager still has the circuit names filled out but no loads because the devices in the file are no longer associated to a circuit.  Because the circuit names are still filled out, overwritten data base is ruled out.

 

This doesnt happen all the time though. 

 

I use the database with a relative path so the database will follow the project around as it is used as a template for subsiquent projects of the same type and complexity.

 

using MEP 2011.

Contributor
Leon-Biohazard
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎06-21-2010
Message 2 of 6 (367 Views)

Re: lost circuit connections in circuit manager

03-09-2011 11:23 PM in reply to: gary

When you switching to another project, do you create a new EPD file or overwrite the previous project?

If you overwrite, you will lost the data on the circuit.

Active Contributor
gary
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎09-28-2007
Message 3 of 6 (358 Views)

Re: lost circuit connections in circuit manager

03-10-2011 06:12 AM in reply to: gary

Just switching to another project does not create a new .epd file.  each project has its own epd that uses a relative path.  It just happeded again this morning. 

 

I think it might be happening when I use a project as a template for a new project.  either the relative path is not working properly or the process of coping the project is stripping the data out.

 

 

Contributor
Leon-Biohazard
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎06-21-2010
Message 4 of 6 (349 Views)

Re: lost circuit connections in circuit manager

03-10-2011 06:21 PM in reply to: gary

Not sure, even though you create a new project from an existing one, but how does a new project to influence the existing one? Since you created a new EPD file for a new project.

You can change the extension from .epd to .dwg and open with AME, then check the information from circuit manager.

Active Contributor
gary
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎09-28-2007
Message 5 of 6 (345 Views)

Re: lost circuit connections in circuit manager

03-10-2011 09:11 PM in reply to: gary

Hum, Im not sure I understand what you mean?

 

By the way, I did a bunch of testing today with copying projects, making new project from an old, open base dwg with the panels attached to epd while not in the correct project and cant seem to force the condition. 

 

Im really scratching my brain on this one.

Contributor
Leon-Biohazard
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎06-21-2010
Message 6 of 6 (335 Views)

Re: lost circuit connections in circuit manager

03-11-2011 04:14 AM in reply to: gary

I mean you can change the extension from .epd to .dwg, then open with AutoCAD MEP, then check the information from circuit manager.

But I am not sure what cause this condition.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD MEP Category!

The AutoCAD MEP forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.