AutoCAD MEP General Discussion

AutoCAD MEP General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
peterchristie1938
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎10-21-2011
Message 1 of 14 (1,177 Views)

Linear Dimensions problem (1 was not parallel to the ucs)

1177 Views, 13 Replies
04-03-2013 11:15 AM

I am having problems placing and then adjusting linear dimensions. When trying to adjust the leaders I get a "1 was not parallel to the ucs" error and cannot make any adjustments.

Contributor
peterchristie1938
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎10-21-2011
Message 2 of 14 (1,174 Views)

Re: Linear Dimensions problem (1 was not parallel to the ucs)

04-03-2013 11:32 AM in reply to: peterchristie1938

was still looking for a fix to this and found this thread .. http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-MEP/can-t-move-or-Stretch-dimensions-with-Grips/td-p/3799778 .. which seems to be the same issue

 

I made a video recording of the problem .. http://screencast.com/t/gcviWQ300iw

Valued Contributor
jcleghorn
Posts: 101
Registered: ‎03-17-2008
Message 3 of 14 (1,153 Views)

Re: Linear Dimensions problem (1 was not parallel to the ucs)

04-03-2013 03:55 PM in reply to: peterchristie1938

Seems to me I have run into this problem, but can't remember when. At any rate, if you use point filters for dimensioning a 3D object in 2D space, the dimension should behave on the same plane.

Contributor
peterchristie1938
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎10-21-2011
Message 4 of 14 (1,143 Views)

Re: Linear Dimensions problem (1 was not parallel to the ucs)

04-08-2013 04:30 AM in reply to: peterchristie1938

so far the best/easiest fix/workaround I have found is to lock the Z coord to 0 by setting OSNAPZ=1

 

I use the 'replace Z with current elevation' button on the lower right

 

never had this issue in 2012

Contributor
wvhlbly
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎03-08-2007
Message 5 of 14 (1,124 Views)

Re: Linear Dimensions problem (1 was not parallel to the ucs)

04-11-2013 06:49 AM in reply to: peterchristie1938

I am having the exact same issue.  No problems till 2013 for me.  When I snap a linear dimension into place and try to modify its endgrips or even the text grips...the ucs changes and I have to set the ucs back to world.  Has anyone found why or how to fix yet?  Thanks

Contributor
peterchristie1938
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎10-21-2011
Message 6 of 14 (1,112 Views)

Re: Linear Dimensions problem (1 was not parallel to the ucs)

04-11-2013 07:22 AM in reply to: peterchristie1938

I also keep getting a dialog stating "non-unitary UCS Y axis: normalizing" when working with newly placed dimensions, and clicking OK doesn't fix the problem as the dialog keeps coming back.

 

real PITA as I have to delete the dim and redraw each time this happens

 

Help Please !!

Contributor
wvhlbly
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎03-08-2007
Message 7 of 14 (1,108 Views)

Re: Linear Dimensions problem (1 was not parallel to the ucs)

04-11-2013 10:55 AM in reply to: peterchristie1938

Just got back from lunch with another cad manager with a different company and they too are having the problem.  I will post if a solution comes about.  

Employee
Pengfei_Tian
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎02-02-2010
Message 8 of 14 (1,089 Views)

Re: Linear Dimensions problem (1 was not parallel to the ucs)

04-12-2013 02:33 AM in reply to: peterchristie1938

Would you please share one drawing to me for investigation?

then we have clearer understanding of this issue.

Pengfei.tian@autodesk.com

 

Pengfei Tian

AutoCAD Architecture

Quality Assurance Engineer

Contributor
peterchristie1938
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎10-21-2011
Message 9 of 14 (1,083 Views)

Re: Linear Dimensions problem (1 was not parallel to the ucs)

04-12-2013 05:26 AM in reply to: peterchristie1938

i made a quick video showing the problem

 

http://screencast.com/t/lusvzRiyBjQ

Contributor
wvhlbly
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎03-08-2007
Message 10 of 14 (1,080 Views)

Re: Linear Dimensions problem (1 was not parallel to the ucs)

04-12-2013 05:41 AM in reply to: peterchristie1938

Exact same for me as in the video.  Sent a screenshot and file to Autodesk this morning.  Hopefully they can replicate the problem.  

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD MEP Category!

The AutoCAD MEP forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.