AutoCAD MEP General Discussion

AutoCAD MEP General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
TravelTheWorld
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎12-01-2009
Message 1 of 6 (6,970 Views)

Import / Export Tool Palettes

6970 Views, 5 Replies
11-03-2011 12:34 PM

Hi,

 

I am using MEP 2012 and trying to export my customized tool palette, so I could share the palette with other CAD users on a server. I am following Autodesk Exchange instruction on Import / Export Tool Palettes. Please refer to the attached picture for the insturction.

 

The problem is that I can't find the following options anywhere on my MEP 2012 CAD. I checked my coworker's CAD just in case I was missing anything, but he had the same issue. 

 

Export a tool palette

Export a tool palette group

 

If this is not the right way of sharing tool palettes with others on a server, what is the right way?

 

Thanks,

 

TTW

Active Contributor
TravelTheWorld
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎12-01-2009
Message 2 of 6 (6,957 Views)

Re: Import / Export Tool Palettes

11-04-2011 07:00 AM in reply to: TravelTheWorld

Never mind. I have solved it myself.

:smileywink:

Valued Contributor
tkendrick
Posts: 84
Registered: ‎11-23-2011
Message 3 of 6 (6,753 Views)

Re: Import / Export Tool Palettes

12-21-2011 07:19 AM in reply to: TravelTheWorld

I have the same problem. Could you explain how you solved it?

----
Use this link to tell Autodesk about features you need:
http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/index?siteID=123112&id=1109794
Active Contributor
TravelTheWorld
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎12-01-2009
Message 4 of 6 (6,722 Views)

Re: Import / Export Tool Palettes

12-27-2011 07:00 AM in reply to: TravelTheWorld

I was told that import/export tool palette using Tool Palettes Customization does not work any more. So, I used Content Browser instead to export all my tool palettes as a library on a server, and the other users drag the library to their tool palettes to import. Does it make sense?

Feel free to shoot an email if you have more questions.

.

Thanks,

New Member
gtmotm
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-24-2011
Message 5 of 6 (6,500 Views)

Re: Import / Export Tool Palettes

03-08-2012 06:45 AM in reply to: TravelTheWorld

Hi,

 

i am having the same problem.  could you provide some advice?  when i open contents explorer, it does list my palettes. i also am using mechanical 2012....  thnaks!!

 

when i open my palette on my other computer, it doesn't show any of the icons......

 

tom

Valued Contributor
jjorovi
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎06-15-2012
Message 6 of 6 (6,191 Views)

Re: Import / Export Tool Palettes

07-02-2012 08:55 AM in reply to: gtmotm

Similar problem.
I am using MEP 2012.
Help!

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD MEP Category!

The AutoCAD MEP forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.