AutoCAD MEP General Discussion

AutoCAD MEP General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
bytown
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎01-28-2010
Message 1 of 3 (923 Views)

How to "BIND" an xref

923 Views, 2 Replies
05-27-2011 06:04 AM

Normally no problem binding an xref but this drawing is an exception. I've provided a "print screen" of the case.

Can anyone determine the reason why the command line reads as it does? These xref are already loaded and will not detach. The assistance would be much appreciated.

Thanks

Distinguished Contributor
jwjones1
Posts: 128
Registered: ‎05-23-2007
Message 2 of 3 (906 Views)

Re: How to "BIND" an xref

05-27-2011 09:37 AM in reply to: bytown

It looks like the references are nested and attached.  Go back to the original reference and make sure that they are found there and, if so, go back to the drawing where you are trying to bind them and make sure that they are pathed such that the drawing can find them.

 

Hope that makes sense =)

Valued Contributor
rmiller1973
Posts: 92
Registered: ‎09-23-2008
Message 3 of 3 (836 Views)

Re: How to "BIND" an xref

06-09-2011 10:14 AM in reply to: jwjones1

If a file can't be found in the xref path it causes the bind process to fail - especially if they are nested. I run into this all the time and it drives me crazy that people have such a hard time understand how unloaded files affect the binding process.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD MEP Category!

The AutoCAD MEP forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.