AutoCAD MEP General Discussion

AutoCAD MEP General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
shane
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎08-24-2008
Message 1 of 10 (1,594 Views)

Flex duct take off to air terminal

1594 Views, 9 Replies
06-29-2011 12:32 AM

I'm sure I'm missing something simple here but I can't figure it out. In MEP 2012 when I click on the add duct grip on an air terminal and connect the terminal to the trunk line I get flex duct as expected but it connects to the bottom of the trunk instead of the side. Take off is 10" round and trunk is 20/20. What am I missing here? How do I get the flex to connect to the side of the trunk as in previous versions?

 

Thanks

Active Member
shane
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎08-24-2008
Message 2 of 10 (1,502 Views)

Re: Flex duct take off to air terminal

07-29-2011 06:38 AM in reply to: shane

 

Any Ideas?

Employee
martin.schmid
Posts: 1,297
Registered: ‎11-16-2005
Message 3 of 10 (1,475 Views)

Re: Flex duct take off to air terminal

08-04-2011 08:55 AM in reply to: shane

can you post a simple sample file of the 'before', then provide a video demonstrating the steps you are using? (I.e., using Jing)

 

Something like this: http://screencast.com/t/3xzfiamMzUX 

 



Martin Schmid, P.E.
Product Manager - Revit MEP
Architecture, Engineering, and Construction
Autodesk, Inc.

*Expert Elite*
Keith.Brown
Posts: 1,126
Registered: ‎03-13-2008
Message 4 of 10 (1,464 Views)

Re: Flex duct take off to air terminal

08-05-2011 07:01 AM in reply to: shane

Out of curiosity, are you using the line, arc or spline method.  I find that the spline option works the best and arc is definately a better solution than line.  Line will take a direct route to the duct and will not allow the flex duct to flex.  It might be worth the time to make sure that this is not what is happening.


Keith Brown AutoCAD MEP BLOG | RSS Feed
AutoCAD MEP 2014 | Revit 2014 | EastCoast CAD/CAM V6.1 | Visual Studio 2013
────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate. Thank you!
Active Contributor
Micaletti
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎10-17-2009
Message 5 of 10 (1,455 Views)

Re: Flex duct take off to air terminal

08-05-2011 10:48 AM in reply to: Keith.Brown

With 2012 just draw a duct and a terminal, then use the terminal's add duct grip to connect to the duct. It always connects to the bottom, in fact it will go out of its way to do so. I dont think it is user error here.

 

If you use the add flex command and do not use the terminal's add grip, you get a side mounted takeoff as expected.

Employee
martin.schmid
Posts: 1,297
Registered: ‎11-16-2005
Message 6 of 10 (1,447 Views)

Re: Flex duct take off to air terminal

08-05-2011 11:35 AM in reply to: Micaletti

I'm not able to reproduce "It always connects to the bottom"

 

See linked.. both attach to the side... using CTRL + grip:

http://screencast.com/t/HkbgDiJdigDf

 

Even in a case where it isn't clear if it should connect to the side or the bottom, it still connects to the side:

http://screencast.com/t/FJcfC05YMbzf 

 

If you can help provide cases that provide unexpected results, I can get them to Dev and PD to see if it can be made to act more sensibly.

 

TIA_

 

 



Martin Schmid, P.E.
Product Manager - Revit MEP
Architecture, Engineering, and Construction
Autodesk, Inc.

Active Contributor
Micaletti
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎10-17-2009
Message 7 of 10 (1,444 Views)

Re: Flex duct take off to air terminal

08-05-2011 11:56 AM in reply to: martin.schmid

Holding CTRL, then clicking the add grip starts the add flex command. Like I said, that works.

 

Setting the "Terminal-duct connection" setting to "Flexible" and using the grip without holding CTRL will net you a flex duct and a bottom takeoff.

 

 

Employee
martin.schmid
Posts: 1,297
Registered: ‎11-16-2005
Message 8 of 10 (1,436 Views)

Re: Flex duct take off to air terminal

08-05-2011 12:51 PM in reply to: Micaletti

I definately see different behavior between 2011 and 2012... but not as has been described.

 

In 2011, I see the flex connects to the side... but in 2012, a connection fails to make... the same drawing is used in both screencaptures... first 2011.. then 2012:

http://screencast.com/t/jHPc7zkX

 

Can you provide a case where in 2011 it connected to the side, but in 2012 it connects to the bottom?

 



Martin Schmid, P.E.
Product Manager - Revit MEP
Architecture, Engineering, and Construction
Autodesk, Inc.

Active Contributor
Micaletti
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎10-17-2009
Message 9 of 10 (1,432 Views)

Re: Flex duct take off to air terminal

08-05-2011 01:39 PM in reply to: martin.schmid

In your last video, the 2011 example is connecting to the bottom of the duct, not the side. It will do that no matter the elevation of the two parts.

 

This is not a problem for me because I do not use the terminal add grips in this way, however it does not look like intended behavior in either example.

 

If holding CTRL is the intended method, the "Terminal-duct connection" "Flexible" option should not be available, or it should work like CTRL was used.

 

Regards,

 

Steven

Employee
martin.schmid
Posts: 1,297
Registered: ‎11-16-2005
Message 10 of 10 (1,428 Views)

Re: Flex duct take off to air terminal

08-05-2011 01:49 PM in reply to: Micaletti

oops, you're right, I mis-typed it is clearly on the bottom, and that was my point... the prior posts indicated this was only a problem with 2012, but since I am seeing this in 2011, I would expect it to work the same way in 2012.

 

Additionally, since I am not seeing this in 2012, I'm curious about the posts that indicate it is happening this way in 2012... in what cases is it working that way?

 

In any event, the behavior is different between 2011 and 2012, and that should be looked into... additionally, I appreciate the feedback that you'd expect it to be consistent with the CTRL method.

 

Cheers-

MS



Martin Schmid, P.E.
Product Manager - Revit MEP
Architecture, Engineering, and Construction
Autodesk, Inc.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD MEP Category!

The AutoCAD MEP forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.