AutoCAD MEP General Discussion

AutoCAD MEP General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
26 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎01-28-2010
Post 1 of 18

Flattening 3D to 2D

50145 Views, 17 Replies
05-06-2010 01:17 PM
I've been trying to "Flatten” a 3D file to make it 2D and reduce the file size. I’ve followed the text instructions word for word but with no success. The pipes change in appearance (Pipes now appear Wire framed) but retain their “Z” coordinate and and still 3D if view isometrically. The size of the file went from 18 meg just to 15 meg.
Thanks
Valued Contributor
83 Posts
2 Kudos
Registered: ‎07-20-2006
Post 2 of 18

Re: Flattening 3D to 2D

05-06-2010 02:20 PM in reply to: bytown
export to AutoCAD

_AecExportToAutoCAD2007
Contributor
25 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎01-08-2009
Post 3 of 18

Re: Flattening 3D to 2D

06-11-2010 12:52 PM in reply to: bytown

try a AECTOACAD command (look it up if needed) It normaly takes 3d CAD files and flattens them just fine for our company.

 

-format

--2000

---suffix = 1

enter

enter

enter

 

(it will create a NEW CAD file where ever the current file was located. so just close out of the current file and go to the same folder it was in and you will see a new file with a "1" after it, open it and it should all be flat)

fyi make sure you are not trying to flatten a block, must BURST it forst.

 

hope this works for ya.

Distinguished Contributor
193 Posts
7 Kudos
Registered: ‎10-14-2008
Post 4 of 18

Re: Flattening 3D to 2D

06-13-2010 10:22 AM in reply to: bytown

Also make sure you in your model space and in plan view

Active Member
9 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎05-26-2010
Post 5 of 18

Re: Flattening 3D to 2D

06-13-2010 11:04 AM in reply to: bytown

The FLATSHOT command is what your looking for, I believe. You have the option to keep hidden lines and put them on a different color and linetype or to leave them off and produce a realistic looking plan view.

 

If your using MEP objects they won't flatshot (I believe it's only 3D solids that are captured) so you will have to be in an isometric view and use the CONVERTTO3DSOLIDS command.

Active Member
8 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎02-22-2011
Post 6 of 18

Re: Flattening 3D to 2D

02-22-2011 08:10 PM in reply to: bytown

ok so im new to autocad. im using a mac. please help. i have a 3d line drawing of a topo. and im trying to flatten it. i have tried  flatshot but does not seem to help. there are not surfaces just lines. i figured this out when measurements were all messed up. i have have been looking at the file from top view not knowing of the 3d component .. any advice.? 

Distinguished Contributor
193 Posts
7 Kudos
Registered: ‎10-14-2008
Post 7 of 18

Re: Flattening 3D to 2D

02-22-2011 09:19 PM in reply to: bytown

You cant use flatshot because they are not 3D objects. Try use the flatten command 

Active Member
8 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎02-22-2011
Post 8 of 18

Re: Flattening 3D to 2D

02-22-2011 09:30 PM in reply to: Schmit01

tried to use command: flatten ; nothing happended?

 could you try using my file?

Active Member
9 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎05-26-2010
Post 9 of 18

Re: Flattening 3D to 2D

02-23-2011 08:26 AM in reply to: bytown

Have you tried selecting all the lines and changing they're Z coordinates via the properties window?

 

I hope that works for you.

Active Member
8 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎02-22-2011
Post 10 of 18

Re: Flattening 3D to 2D

02-23-2011 08:30 AM in reply to: Watershape2

not following.. properties window?

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD MEP Category!

The AutoCAD MEP forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the future of the Autodesk Community? To participate in this brief usability study, please click here. Your time and input is greatly appreciated!